Xpress Reviews

Web-first reviews of books and media, including e-original/e-exclusive titles.

E-Originals from Barth and Solheim, plus Newcomer Tremayne | Xpress Reviews

The romance, on the other hand, is sweet, with definite heat; a quick, light read, especially for those who enjoy culinary and political settings with some suspense; this slow-paced Victorian-era romance will please readers with its gradual relationship development

Nonfiction: Divine Comedy, Pop Music, Presidents, Boys, Fight Scenes, Parenting, and Tarantino | Xpress Reviews

Despite the book’s weaknesses, Baxter is clearly a scholar to be valued; crisp writing and broad coverage for music libraries; an enjoyable browse for casual historians; navigating the unique struggles faced by males today; an engaging read for film buffs; solid advice for businesses of all sizes; Marquess’s relaxed voice is refreshing; for anyone interested in either Tarantino or more generally in film over the past 25 years

Fiction from Cohen, Cole, Frampton, Kardos, Monroe, Rosenberg, Sigurdardóttir, and Thayer | Xpress Reviews

Purchase where B.A. Paris, S.J. Watson, and Paula Hawkins are popular; readers will have a hard time putting this one down; a solid romance with steamy love scenes that is an enjoyable read; truly gasp-worthy; fans of Monroe will find an easy read full of dramatic soap opera situations; The nonstop action will keep readers turning the pages; this hard-to-put-down Nordic thriller will be a treat for crime fiction fans; one of Thayer’s best Nantucket novels yet; readers will find much to discuss in literary historian Varese’s debut novel

Graphic Novels from Ferraris and Gibelin & Wendling | Xpress Reviews

A powerful story for mature readers both familiar with graphic narratives or new to the medium; recommended to fans of mature epic fantasies à la Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’s Saga who are looking for a much shorter read

Graphic Novels from Scioli & Barber, Young & Others, Stavans & Cohen, and Taylor | Xpress Reviews

Will appeal to both fans nostalgic for characters they loved in their youth and enthusiasts of hipper indie comics; gory, endlessly inventive, and often laugh-out-loud funny; a tragic, moving story of a little-known and complicated figure in Mexican history; with very personal touches throughout and a simple yet colorful visual style

Nonfiction: Reagan in Moscow, Fruits & Veggies, the Poor, New Space Race, Dollywood, & More | Xpress Reviews

Fans of Ronald Reagan and Fox News will relish this book; another solid choice for gardening collections; for readers interested in public health policy; comfortable spiritual nourishment for readers of all types; a compelling narrative that should be of special interest to many with the very recent launch of SpaceX’s Falcon Heavy rocket; fans of Parton and those with interests in Appalachia, Tennessee, and Southern culture will enjoy this book; for fans of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and John McEuen in particular

E-Originals from Collins, Irby, and Rhone | Xpress Reviews

A perfect tale for Winter Olympics lovers; Irby combines themes of redemption and healing for broken families with sincere characters; Rhone creates wonderful characters that touch readers’ hearts

Fiction from Box, Hughes, Rotella, and Debuters Kiernan and Viskic | Xpress Reviews

Another hit for storyteller extraordinaire Box; this English-village drama is packed with threads to unravel straight to the end; this solid Irish procedural is clearly set up for a series; for fans of tough crime fiction; fans of Australian crime writers such as Peter Temple and Jane Harper will want this

Graphic Novels from Bowers & Co., Reynolds, and Debuter Utkin | Xpress Reviews

More serious than readers seeking an Atari game–based comic might expect; This New World is not for everyone, though its interpretive nature is also its strength; this classic mythology told for modern readers will appeal to anyone with an interest in the subject

Nonfiction on Branding, Watercolor, Business Practice, Tula Pink, Timothy Leary | Xpress Reviews

A compelling if somewhat grandiose read for those interested in marketing, advertising, and brand development; those who haven’t touched their watercolor paints in years are the ideal audience for this guide; for every business or management collection; Pink’s fans will enjoy putting their own spin on some of her best-known work; a fascinating look into Leary’s world