Xpress Reviews

Web-first reviews of books and media, including e-original/e-exclusive titles.

E-Originals from Fernando, Patrick, and Sebastian | Xpress Reviews

A perfect novella fare for on-the-go readers who can devour these in an afternoon or evening; a sweet and satisfying ending to the “MacDermott Brothers” series; another original read full of hints that the story of Alistair and Robin is not over yet. What will she wear?

Graphic Novels from Fernandez, Furmark, and Mardon | Xpress Reviews

Tales is more than just another trip through Arabian nights and days; for anyone interested late 20th-century European politics and life, particularly in Sweden; readers interested in France’s Greatest Generation or family narratives will appreciate it

Nonfiction: Toddler Sense of Self, Travel Rules, Gobal Child Care, Twins, Children’s Choices | Xpress Reviews

Practical and new activities for parents and child-care workers; armchair travelers and their active counterparts and many more will enjoy this work; a mixed collection of essays; a fascinating perspective on parenting worldwide; a valuable read for the growing market of books for parents of multiples; may prove a valuable resource for Christian parents, teachers, and youth workers

Fiction from George, Lansdale, London, Moyes, and Stanley | Xpress Reviews

Beloved series characters and an engrossing plot make for a blockbuster combination; fans will eagerly follow Hap and Leonard through their latest, politically timely hullabaloo; London’s beautiful love story is for all romance collections; this book does justice to funny, witty Louisa; fans of noir and historical fiction will be engaged

Graphic Novels: Christmas & Co., Lieberman & Co., Quintero & Peña, Rangel & Cadwell | Xpress Reviews

An exciting and fresh world; mature fans will enthusiastically embrace this; for anyone interested in fine art photography, particularly of Mexican and Southwestern American subjects; this vibrant story displays engaging mayhem; golden oldies remain imaginative tales of midnight noir; despite more successful tales than misfires, overall this remains a misshapen monster

Nonfiction on Chronic Illness, Oral-Facial Problems, Stand-Up Comedy, and Sugar | Xpress Reviews

For those with a determined spirit during discouraging times; Fontaine does not make much of a case for any larger meaning in her experiences; an alternative approach to conventional orthodontics; for anyone thinking of performing stand-up and others who like an enjoyable read; recommended for those unfamiliar with sugar’s history and power

Fiction by Bostwick, Deveraux, Dibben, Harris, Maldonado, Putnam, Sharpe, plus Debuts | Xpress Reviews

Bostwick’s smoothly written book is full of fresh starts, cute dogs, and likable characters; not much is new, but Deveraux fans will enjoy this pleasant work; Dibben celebrates the strength of human and animal ties; Franson’s debut is well intentioned but not essential; Harris’s latest is quite a good book with wide appeal; a gritty heroine and an action-packed mystery; this prequel to the Bruno Johnson series keeps readers engrossed; readers will be rooting hard for Nora to get her self-esteem back; the tough but conflicted Harley will have readers cheering

E-Originals from James, Leigh, Mecca, and Pace | Xpress Reviews

Any amount of James is worth the effort; a solid entry to a new series sure to be a hit with fans of bad boy rockers; this solid novel is for anyone with an interest in the Middle Ages; Pace scores a goal with this Cinderella story

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels

Nonfiction: Dog Behavior, a Sailing Journey, “Weird Math,” Words from Kaku, Stagecraft | Xpress Reviews

For everyone who owns a dog, breeds or trains dogs, or works with dogs; will appeal to readers who enjoy the details of living on the water; for those interested in mathematics and its connections to life’s routines; an inspiring treatise on humanity that incorporates solid physics; all collections serving actors should acquire both monolog titles