The Big Thrill | ITW Thriller Award Nominees 2018

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) have announced the nominees for the 2018 Thriller Awards. The winners will be announced at ThrillerFest XIII on July 14, 2018, at the Grand Hyatt, New York City.

Crime Fiction’s “Girl” Power | Mystery Genre Spotlight

Women dominate psychological suspense, the Roaring ’20s hit historicals, and diverse representation improves but has a way to go; meanwhile, a debut thriller from Zoje Stage demonstrates a truly murderous mother-daughter connection

Q&A: Brad Parks, Winner of the Shamus, Nero, and Lefty Awards

With the March release of Closer Than You Know (starred review, LJ 10/1/17), Parks continues to delve into the darker aspects of suburban life. Here he shares his inspiration for the new book and writing background.

Devlin’s Debut of the Month, Thrills & Chills from Bauer, Cooper, French, Hezroni, Classic Horowitz, Perry, Cleland | Mystery & Suspense Reviews

Devlin’s intriguing debut offers a fast-paced, graphically violent mystery for pro wrestling fans; this dark, twisty, and gripping tale is a must-read for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah; another fascinating character-driven story from Cleland; a remarkable compilation of fresh and unexpected stories from the best in the genre

Graham, Robb, Jance, & More | Chiller Previews, Sept. 2018

Ellison, J.T. Tear Me Apart. Mira: Harlequin. Sept. 2018. 368p. ISBN 9780778330004. pap. $16.99. THRILLER Surgery after a heinous downhill crash reveals that competitive skier Mindy Wright needs a stem cell transplant for previously undetected leukemia, but inexplicably her parents aren’t a match—which must be connected to something desperate Lauren Wright did in the past. […]

Dublin Thrillers | Fiction Reviews

A well-crafted thriller that will leave readers on the edge of their seats; told by two competing narrators, this story is filled with twists that have readers wanting more

Raybourn’s Pick of the Month, Cleeves, Gardner, Kallentoft/Lutteman, Kepler, Shames, Siger, Nordic Noir | Mystery & Suspense Reviews

Raybourn’s intricately plotted and dramatic story features the independent, intellectual equal of the brooding Stoker; this atmospheric mystery vividly captures a diverse, contemporary Los Angeles that will still be recognizable to Raymond Chandler readers; a must-read for aficionados of golden age mysteries; the shiver-inducing Sandman will have you turning pages until the cliff-hanger ending

Critics & Authors | Barbara’s Picks, Jul. 2018

Jeppesen, Travis. See You Again in Pyongyang: A Journey into Kim Jong Un’s North Korea. Hachette. Jul. 2018. 304p. ISBN 9780316509152. $28; ebk. ISBN 9780316509138. lib. ebk. ISBN 9780316509169. Downloadable. TRAVEL/CURRENT EVENTS A perennially edgy novelist/poet (e.g., The Suiciders) and an artist whose work has popped up at the Whitney Biennial, Jeppesen has visited North […]

Last of the Big May Titles | Fiction & Nonfiction Previews, May 2018

Fiction Brooks, Terry. The Skaar Invasion. Del Rey: Ballantine. May 2018. 384p. ISBN 9780553391510. $28; ebk. ISBN 9780553391527. Downloadable. FANTASY As the end of the Shannara books near—this is the second book in a four-part wrap-up that reads like a stand-alone series—Paranor is swarming with invaders who don’t seem too vindictive. Alas, they presage a […]

Favorite Thrillers | Fiction Reviews

A must for fans of Steve Berry, written in a way you would almost believe it to be true; a carefully written thriller with great suspense and sensational detail.