Graphic Novels from Fernandez, Furmark, and Mardon | Xpress Reviews

Tales is more than just another trip through Arabian nights and days; for anyone interested late 20th-century European politics and life, particularly in Sweden; readers interested in France’s Greatest Generation or family narratives will appreciate it

Graphic Novels: Christmas & Co., Lieberman & Co., Quintero & Peña, Rangel & Cadwell | Xpress Reviews

An exciting and fresh world; mature fans will enthusiastically embrace this; for anyone interested in fine art photography, particularly of Mexican and Southwestern American subjects; this vibrant story displays engaging mayhem; golden oldies remain imaginative tales of midnight noir; despite more successful tales than misfires, overall this remains a misshapen monster

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels

The Horror, the Horror | 2017 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization for writers of horror and dark fantasy, has announced the 2017 Bram Stoker Awards® Final Ballot. Named in honor of the author of Dracula, the prizes are presented annually in 11 categories, including fiction, poetry, screenplays, and nonfiction.

Graphic Novels from Wilson & Shimojima, plus Debuters Simon & Brascaglia and Tung | Xpress Reviews

This volume gets into superfan specifics and sports politics, making it more intricate than it first appears; Tung’s tale is pleasant but does little to distinguish itself from the pack; an excellent addition to any graphic novel collection and for all readers interested in nonfiction and historical work

Book to Screen | Babylon Berlin

January 30 marks the streaming release of Netflix’s latest European import, Babylon Berlin. Based on the best-selling crime novels by Volker Kutscher, the 16-part, two-season series, directed by Tom Tykwer, is the most expensive German television series ever produced.

Graphic Novel from Peeters and Phang Smells Like a Western | Xpress Reviews

With sublime artwork showcasing expansive views, gripping action sequences, and quiet moments of character study—for fans of Peeters’s work and unusual graphic novels

Graphic Novels from Parrish, Seluk, and Silloray | Xpress Reviews

Moments of emotional honesty will resonate with those looking for graphic novels focused on LGBTQIA themes; the humor is at times sidesplitting as well as heartwarming—fans of this series will not be disappointed; a fine volume that brings to life a great artist

Graphic Novels from Bates & Co., Brantz, Johnston, and Wagner & Others | Xpress Reviews

Any theoretical physics geek, sf fan, or solid space yarn aficionado will enjoy this tightly rendered tale; for lovers of Gemma Correll’s Instagram feed more; fans of the highest virtuosity in cartooning will relish this deluxe introduction to the Pattersons; for mature lovers of horror, grave tales, and quality artistic craftsmanship

Graphic Novels from Bevilacqua, Ellis & Davis-Hunt, Rubio & Efa, Stein, plus More Superman | Xpress Reviews

A gateway to introduce new readers to the graphic novel medium; a fast-paced story that will attract all sf fans; this beautiful, evocative story will please fans of biography, art history, and impressionism; Stein’s enjoyable autobiographical vignettes; plus Tomasi and Yang redo Superman