Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

1918 Stories | Fiction Reviews

A well balanced story of grief and hardship as a family navigates loss and moving forward; historical fiction and thriller come together with a seamless blend of fact and fiction in post-World War I New Orleans

Historical Mysteries | Fiction Reviews

A well-rounded debut novel that’s reminiscent of Agatha Christie; a debut historical fiction novel filled with glamorous detail to be enjoyed by fans of historical fiction and mysteries.

Fiction from Ashe and Final Thoughts from Shepard | Xpress Reviews

While immediate truth-telling would have led our protagonists more directly to their happy ever after, this multilayered story would have been the poorer for it; what it was like to have lived in a great mind in its last moments—highly recommended

Fiction from Cassidy, Scotch, and Wright | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for sf fans who enjoy stories in which the protagonists fight against seemingly impossible odds; given Scotch’s popularity among chick lit readers, this title will be popular despite its shortcomings; recommended where gentle romances have pride of place

Prep School Stories | Fiction Reviews

A troubling journey into the question of how involved teachers should be in their students lives; a debut novel chronicling the shift from young love to obsession.

Fiction from Beagle, Powers, Quinn, Wynn, and Debuter Mikulencak | Xpress Reviews

For fantasy fans, Beagle should be a staple; Mikulencak’s debut is a haunting study of race relations, compassion, and mystery; this collection should serve as a solid introduction to Powers’s style; Irish crime novelist Quinn is a writer to watch; this volume will be most welcomed by fans of the series

Fiction from Berne, Crais, Glickman, Guild, Holohan, Koontz, Reed, & Thomas | Xpress Reviews

Readers who can wait for Alasdair’s redemption will be rewarded; Crais delivers another highly satisfying page-turner; fans of historical novels and Greek myth will thoroughly enjoy this book; plenty of twists and turns into the light and dark of human nature; oontz delivers another winner; bound to attract readers who enjoy authors specializing in Victorian crime fiction

Fiction from Connelly, Harrison, Montreal Noir, and Pruitt, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

Connelly again delivers a solid crime mystery; Harrison delivers an intimately believable portrayal of women’s friendship; an enjoyable, breezy read that celebrates the uniqueness of Provincetown; an introduction to many Montreal-based mystery authors; an excellent addition to the gritty Southern noir genre; strong characters and fast-paced action define this debut sf thriller

LJ Media | Review Alert, November 1, 2017

Wise, stellar, accomplished, Hadley’s collection will appeal to literary aficionados; all libraries would serve their patrons well by having Churchill & Orwell in their collections; a thoughtful exploration of the music of Palestine past and present; this Happy Film offers viewers good company, stimulating conversation fodder, and a dare to examine their own life goals