Remembering Sue Grafton, Honoring Mystery’s Best | In the Bookroom

The Mystery Writers of America’s annual “Edgar Week” in New York City began with a memorial service honoring the late mystery author Sue Grafton at the New York Public Library and ended with the 72nd Annual Edgar Allan Poe Awards Dinner at the Grand Hyatt Hotel.

Crime Fiction’s “Girl” Power | Mystery Genre Spotlight

Women dominate psychological suspense, the Roaring ’20s hit historicals, and diverse representation improves but has a way to go; meanwhile, a debut thriller from Zoje Stage demonstrates a truly murderous mother-daughter connection

Devlin’s Debut of the Month, Thrills & Chills from Bauer, Cooper, French, Hezroni, Classic Horowitz, Perry, Cleland | Mystery & Suspense Reviews

Devlin’s intriguing debut offers a fast-paced, graphically violent mystery for pro wrestling fans; this dark, twisty, and gripping tale is a must-read for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah; another fascinating character-driven story from Cleland; a remarkable compilation of fresh and unexpected stories from the best in the genre

From A to Y | Sue Grafton Remembered

Best-selling author Sue Grafton, who died on December 28, 2017, is now considered a game changer in the mystery genre. In Grafton’s memory, here are LJ’s first and final reviews of her wonderful alphabetically titled mysteries.

High Drama at Mystery Gala | Edgar Awards 2017

The Mystery Writers of America’s (MWA) 71st Annual Edgar Awards banquet, held April 27 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City, did not lack for suspense.

Taking the Mystery Out of Mystery | Readers’ Advisory

Mysteries appeal to the intellect. They offer a puzzle, clues to solve it, and red herrings meant to be misleading. Some readers derive satisfaction from solving the mystery before the detective does. Others prefer the surprise of a twist ending.

Celebrating Mystery’s Best | Edgar Award Nominees 2017

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) celebrated Edgar Allan Poe’s 208th birthday on January 19 by releasing the nominees for the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2016.

Bouchercon Winners | Anthony, Barry, Macavity Awards 2016

Edgar Award winner Lou Berney hit the awards trifecta at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in New Orleans when his third novel, The Long and Faraway Gone, garnered the Anthony and Barry Awards for Best Paperback Original and earned the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel.

Elif Batuman, Mohsin Hamid, Chris Hayes, & More | Barbara’s Picks, Mar. 2017, Pt. 1

Batuman, Elif. The Idiot. Penguin Pr. Mar. 2017. 448p. ISBN 9781594205613. $27; ebk. ISBN 9781101622513. lrg. prnt. Downloadable: Penguin Audio. LITERARY FICTION As evidenced by her National Book Critics Circle finalist, The Possessed: Adventures with Russian Books and the People Who Read Them, Batuman is a refreshingly different breed of critic, offering intriguingly personal and […]

Margaret Atwood, Tana French, & Maria Semple | Audio in Advance October 2016 | Fiction

Audiobooks from Ali Smith, Connie Willis, and Jonathan Lethem releasing in October 2016