LJ Fiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Gabel explores friendship and art with great warmth, humanity, and wisdom; an intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England brings the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life; erotica featuring smart women thriving in business and getting some action after hours

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News | Book Pulse

Night Moves by Jonathan Kellerman leads holds this week. The RUSA/CODES awards are announced and Asymmetry by Lisa Halliday is getting strong literary buzz.

New Bestsellers | Book Pulse

New bestsellers hit the lists and a number of authors get profiles, features, and interviews.

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels

Nonfiction: Dog Behavior, a Sailing Journey, “Weird Math,” Words from Kaku, Stagecraft | Xpress Reviews

For everyone who owns a dog, breeds or trains dogs, or works with dogs; will appeal to readers who enjoy the details of living on the water; for those interested in mathematics and its connections to life’s routines; an inspiring treatise on humanity that incorporates solid physics; all collections serving actors should acquire both monolog titles

The Horror, the Horror | 2017 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization for writers of horror and dark fantasy, has announced the 2017 Bram Stoker Awards® Final Ballot. Named in honor of the author of Dracula, the prizes are presented annually in 11 categories, including fiction, poetry, screenplays, and nonfiction.

Fiction from Gaylin, Kasai, Powell, the Samatars, and Sigurdardóttir | Xpress Reviews

Gaylin’s skillful balance of tension and intimacy will appeal to fans of psychological and domestic suspense; Kasai explores the horrors of slavery and its legacy; the first volume in a new trilogy that will appeal to military sf fans; this series of brief fictions and sketches combine to dazzle the imagination; not up to Sigurdardóttir’s high standards

Jesmyn Ward Is Writing a Middle Grade Novel | Book Pulse

Jesmyn Ward has two new books in the works, one is her first novel for younger readers. YA author Sara Shepard’s first adult novel is forthcoming.

E-Originals from Grant, Michaels, and Persell | Xpress Reviews

Multiple backstories converge with the main plotline to create a rich tapestry of paranormal romantic interplay; Michaels includes some fun Easter eggs for fans of her previous works; fans of video game culture and strong female protagonists will enjoy this hot, sensual read

Latin American History, February 2018 | Best Sellers

March 2017 to date as identified by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO