Academic Librarianship | Professional Media

Recommended for academic library staffs, library managers and LIS students, a look at several case studies about staff development; A valuable look at using the physical space of the library to create better experiences for patrons; An important text filled with practical exercises to prove the worth of academic libraries

The Era of Ike | Social Sciences

This biography is an admiring look at the life and accomplishments of the 34th President of the United States; A dual biography that focuses on the complicated relationship between Eisenhower and Justice Warren

Library Services, Library of Congress, Outside the Library | Professional Media

A great primer for people of any professional background who is interested in freelancing or consulting; An extremely informative institutional history of the Library of Congress, great for library buffs; An important resource for public librarians looking to develop helpful services for all stages of adulthood

Royals & Rivalries | Social Sciences

An exciting read about an unfamiliar royal family, steers clear of overly academic language making this historic account a must for amateur historians; A well written portrait of a nearly forgotten countess, highly recommended for lovers of Tudor history and biographies.

Man Booker International Prize Longlist Triggers a Trend Watch | Book Pulse

A few bookish trends get coverage, LJ‘s PLA Galley Roundup is out, and a number of books head to screens. HBO talks GOT and Big Little Lies.

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News | Book Pulse

The Flight Attendantby Chris Bohjalian leads holds this week and the TV show Rise is also making noise (it is inspired by a book). Netflix buys the US rights to the film version of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society but has yet to announce its air date.

The Books of March | Wyatt’s World

March brings a number of highly anticipated titles, including Ramona Ausubel’s story collection Awayland, Christopher Golden and Tim Lebbon’s Blood of the Four, Rebecca Kauffman’s The Gunners, and Shobha Rao’s Girls Burn Brighter. Here are five more, from genre picks to new short fiction.

More Book Clubs Make News | Book Pulse

Book clubs continue to make news this week, Astronaut Scott Kelly credits reading for his success, and Lin-Manuel Miranda signs on for the adaptation of Philip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” series.

Graphic Novels from Scioli & Barber, Young & Others, Stavans & Cohen, and Taylor | Xpress Reviews

Will appeal to both fans nostalgic for characters they loved in their youth and enthusiasts of hipper indie comics; gory, endlessly inventive, and often laugh-out-loud funny; a tragic, moving story of a little-known and complicated figure in Mexican history; with very personal touches throughout and a simple yet colorful visual style

Nonfiction: Reagan in Moscow, Fruits & Veggies, the Poor, New Space Race, Dollywood, & More | Xpress Reviews

Fans of Ronald Reagan and Fox News will relish this book; another solid choice for gardening collections; for readers interested in public health policy; comfortable spiritual nourishment for readers of all types; a compelling narrative that should be of special interest to many with the very recent launch of SpaceX’s Falcon Heavy rocket; fans of Parton and those with interests in Appalachia, Tennessee, and Southern culture will enjoy this book; for fans of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and John McEuen in particular