For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Women’s History Month: Read On | Wyatt’s World

Nonfiction explorations, a grand collection of comics portraits, and a welcome anthology of reimagined tales are just some of the books that help readers celebrate the history and achievements of women.

Bon Appétit: Seven New and Tasty Cookbooks

With straightforward instructions, cooks of all skill levels will be able to fire up a gas or charcoal grill and make something delicious; fish lovers can cook a variety of dishes from shellfish, finfish, little fish, and eggs to mahi-mahi, wahoo, and Pacific cod; and discover new takes on breakfasts, beverages, finger foods, main courses, and desserts that will satisfy the entire family

At the Craft Table: Eight New Craft/DIY Books

Work on your lettering with close-up photographs of various pen types, nibs from all angles, and a great variety of inks and paints; step outside of the box and create something new and exciting with concrete; and tips on how to use bold, high-contrast color palettes to give your quilts an extra punch

Nonfiction: Divine Comedy, Pop Music, Presidents, Boys, Fight Scenes, Parenting, and Tarantino | Xpress Reviews

Despite the book’s weaknesses, Baxter is clearly a scholar to be valued; crisp writing and broad coverage for music libraries; an enjoyable browse for casual historians; navigating the unique struggles faced by males today; an engaging read for film buffs; solid advice for businesses of all sizes; Marquess’s relaxed voice is refreshing; for anyone interested in either Tarantino or more generally in film over the past 25 years

The Inner Mind | Science & Technology

A good read for neuroscientists as well as general readers, taking a slightly simplified look at the brain and how humans interaction and study of the mind have changed; A thoughtful look at the current state of neuroscience through experiments and practices, highly recommended for those interested in the brain and the many ways to improve it

Academic Librarianship | Professional Media

Recommended for academic library staffs, library managers and LIS students, a look at several case studies about staff development; A valuable look at using the physical space of the library to create better experiences for patrons; An important text filled with practical exercises to prove the worth of academic libraries

The Era of Ike | Social Sciences

This biography is an admiring look at the life and accomplishments of the 34th President of the United States; A dual biography that focuses on the complicated relationship between Eisenhower and Justice Warren

Library Services, Library of Congress, Outside the Library | Professional Media

A great primer for people of any professional background who is interested in freelancing or consulting; An extremely informative institutional history of the Library of Congress, great for library buffs; An important resource for public librarians looking to develop helpful services for all stages of adulthood

Royals & Rivalries | Social Sciences

An exciting read about an unfamiliar royal family, steers clear of overly academic language making this historic account a must for amateur historians; A well written portrait of a nearly forgotten countess, highly recommended for lovers of Tudor history and biographies.

Nonfiction: Reagan in Moscow, Fruits & Veggies, the Poor, New Space Race, Dollywood, & More | Xpress Reviews

Fans of Ronald Reagan and Fox News will relish this book; another solid choice for gardening collections; for readers interested in public health policy; comfortable spiritual nourishment for readers of all types; a compelling narrative that should be of special interest to many with the very recent launch of SpaceX’s Falcon Heavy rocket; fans of Parton and those with interests in Appalachia, Tennessee, and Southern culture will enjoy this book; for fans of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and John McEuen in particular