Nonfiction on Parenthood, Growing More Vegetables, and Hip-Hop Artist Gucci Mane | Xpress Reviews

Guaranteed to make any expectant mother weep but not a requirement for libraries; for a more productive garden that ultimately will lead to a more healthy environment for us all; recommended for rap music scholars and fans of Gucci Mane and trap music

Genre Mashups & Original Retellings | Graphic Novels Reviews

Many of the books reviewed this month feature genre mashups and showcase how in the right hands such works can completely transcend their origins.

Eric Reynolds: Fantagraphics Books | Eye on Publishing

Passionate, informed, and with a palpable commitment to turning his artistic vision into reality, Eric Reynolds is not shy when it comes to discussing the value of comics, which he sees as a medium with a fundamental purpose: to make art.

Editors’ Fall Picks 2017

Forty-one timely titles for autumn and beyond

Graphic Novels from Cates & Co. and Wertz | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for readers who enjoy epic fantasy in rural settings; for anyone who enjoys graphic nonfiction and biography and especially for those interested in New York City’s various buildings and types of architecture

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A tension-filled tour de force of suspense and human emotions from debuter Nelson; Snow’s action-packed, erotic series concludes with a scintillating Rule Changer; Remender and Murphy turn in one of the most fully realized graphic works of the last decade; Nobel Laureate Modiano, Latin American sensation Gamboa, best-selling Israeli author Nevo, and more; Massey’s fans and historical fiction lovers will enjoy this original outing

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor

Graphic Novels from Kirsch; Larsson, Runberg, & Homs; and Various Faces of Horror | Xpress Reviews

A complex story told in a thoughtful, moving manner; a valuable addition, embodying the many strengths that make the format an exceptional medium for modern storytelling; the high level of beautiful and terrifying work ensures that readers will revel in these tales from the first through final page

Graphic Novels from Cloonan & Co., Lansdale and Glanzman, and Ledesma | Xpress Reviews

For anyone who appreciates whimsical melancholy and bright, energetic illustration; mature readers and fans of Django-style Westerns will relish this elaborate short story; not quite popular press but not quite academic