#MeToo, Box Brown, Comics for Choice, Babylon Berlin, Mean Girls, Manga Master Ito, Art/Life Advice | Graphic Novels Reviews

A fun and informative read that fans of Kaufman, wrestling, and showbiz lore are sure to adore; lovers of crime comics will savor all the details of this complicated adult story; this lively self-care guide should wake up artists, amateur and pro, and also apply to anyone who sits at the ­computer all day; fans of any age will love

LJ Fiction | Review Alert: April 1, 2018

For aficionados of British procedurals; Steinhauer has written an unnervingly and timely thriller with incredible pivots; the powerful and diverse testimonies in these stories bring nuance and complexity to the ongoing conversation; this exquisitely crafted novel offers a lesson in history; world literature beyond the basics; a weighty, emotional read with Pekkanen’s trademark relatable, realistic characters

Women’s History Month: Read On | Wyatt’s World

Nonfiction explorations, a grand collection of comics portraits, and a welcome anthology of reimagined tales are just some of the books that help readers celebrate the history and achievements of women.

Graphic Novels from Ferraris and Gibelin & Wendling | Xpress Reviews

A powerful story for mature readers both familiar with graphic narratives or new to the medium; recommended to fans of mature epic fantasies à la Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’s Saga who are looking for a much shorter read

Graphic Novels from Scioli & Barber, Young & Others, Stavans & Cohen, and Taylor | Xpress Reviews

Will appeal to both fans nostalgic for characters they loved in their youth and enthusiasts of hipper indie comics; gory, endlessly inventive, and often laugh-out-loud funny; a tragic, moving story of a little-known and complicated figure in Mexican history; with very personal touches throughout and a simple yet colorful visual style

Titan Books/Marvel Comics To Publish Original Black Panther Prose Novel

Beginning this April, Titan Books and Marvel Comics will combine to publish in both North American and UK markets original prose novels that expand on the comics giant’s most popular creations, including Black Panther, Captain America, Deadpool, Ant-Man, and Spider-Man.

Graphic Novels from Bowers & Co., Reynolds, and Debuter Utkin | Xpress Reviews

More serious than readers seeking an Atari game–based comic might expect; This New World is not for everyone, though its interpretive nature is also its strength; this classic mythology told for modern readers will appeal to anyone with an interest in the subject

Graphic Novels from Fernandez, Furmark, and Mardon | Xpress Reviews

Tales is more than just another trip through Arabian nights and days; for anyone interested late 20th-century European politics and life, particularly in Sweden; readers interested in France’s Greatest Generation or family narratives will appreciate it

Graphic Novels: Christmas & Co., Lieberman & Co., Quintero & Peña, Rangel & Cadwell | Xpress Reviews

An exciting and fresh world; mature fans will enthusiastically embrace this; for anyone interested in fine art photography, particularly of Mexican and Southwestern American subjects; this vibrant story displays engaging mayhem; golden oldies remain imaginative tales of midnight noir; despite more successful tales than misfires, overall this remains a misshapen monster

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels