Mystery

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

The Big Thrill | ITW Thriller Award Nominees 2018

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) have announced the nominees for the 2018 Thriller Awards. The winners will be announced at ThrillerFest XIII on July 14, 2018, at the Grand Hyatt, New York City.

Timely Debuts from Markely, Rojas Contreras, Meyerson, & Weisman; Edge-of-Your-Seat Thrills from Del Árbol, Nugent, Griffiths | Fiction: May 1, 2018

Johnson’s gem of a novel tells of a place and its people so vivid that readers won’t want their stories to end; Meyerson’s sweet debut is filled with family, love, and healing; the coveted book of summer, Weisberger’s latest is sure to be in high demand; the latest addition to Griffiths’s “Ruth Galloway” series is one of the best; fans of CWA Gold Dagger Award–winning series will dive into the scrum of Herron’s fifth outing; once again, Kepnes explores love and devotion on the fringes

Crime Fiction’s “Girl” Power | Mystery Genre Spotlight

Women dominate psychological suspense, the Roaring ’20s hit historicals, and diverse representation improves but has a way to go; meanwhile, a debut thriller from Zoje Stage demonstrates a truly murderous mother-daughter connection

Q&A: Brad Parks, Winner of the Shamus, Nero, and Lefty Awards

With the March release of Closer Than You Know (starred review, LJ 10/1/17), Parks continues to delve into the darker aspects of suburban life. Here he shares his inspiration for the new book and writing background.

Devlin’s Debut of the Month, Thrills & Chills from Bauer, Cooper, French, Hezroni, Classic Horowitz, Perry, Cleland | Mystery & Suspense Reviews

Devlin’s intriguing debut offers a fast-paced, graphically violent mystery for pro wrestling fans; this dark, twisty, and gripping tale is a must-read for fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah; another fascinating character-driven story from Cleland; a remarkable compilation of fresh and unexpected stories from the best in the genre

LJ Fiction | Review Alert: April 1, 2018

For aficionados of British procedurals; Steinhauer has written an unnervingly and timely thriller with incredible pivots; the powerful and diverse testimonies in these stories bring nuance and complexity to the ongoing conversation; this exquisitely crafted novel offers a lesson in history; world literature beyond the basics; a weighty, emotional read with Pekkanen’s trademark relatable, realistic characters

Coyle’s Pick of the Month, Chapman, Heaberlin, Hillier, Indridason, Sacks, African Crime Fiction, and Missing Children | Mystery & Suspense Reviews

Coyle’s 17th series entry combines timely social issues with a gripping and entertaining mystery; the award-winning McPherson launches a new contemporary series with a bang; this series set in Zimbabwe will appeal to readers who enjoy descriptive details; for thriller readers, Jewell’s latest will not disappoint

LJ Talks to Naomi Hirahara

After six mysteries starring elderly Japanese American gardener and World War II atomic bombing survivor Mas Arai, Naomi Hirahara brings her Edgar Award–winning series to a close in her March release, Hiroshima Boy.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Gabel explores friendship and art with great warmth, humanity, and wisdom; an intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England brings the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life; erotica featuring smart women thriving in business and getting some action after hours

Book to Screen | Babylon Berlin

January 30 marks the streaming release of Netflix’s latest European import, Babylon Berlin. Based on the best-selling crime novels by Volker Kutscher, the 16-part, two-season series, directed by Tom Tykwer, is the most expensive German television series ever produced.