Christian Fiction

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, March 15, 2018

Bishop’s fans will be happy to return to the universe of the Others; Ganshert’s emotionally charged and powerful novel will have readers examining their own personal biases; those who take the plunge will be rewarded with a wild ride from a narrator whose sardonic outlook reveals profound truths; based on real-life events, Winthrop’s engrossing story unfolds through strong memorable characters

LJ Talks to Samuel Parker

After last year’s breakout debut, Purgatory Road, Samuel Parker returns with a second book that is sure to garner equal acclaim. A retelling of the biblical story of Cain and Abel, Coldwater is an intense and riveting tale about the destructive nature of evil.

Parker’s Pick of the Month, Clipston, Laureano, Rivers, Turanksy, a Quintet of Colonial Stories | Christian Fiction Reviews

For fans of tender romances set in Edwardian England; this quick and engaging read is perfect for those who enjoy cozy mysteries set in Britain; this character-driven romance will enthrall Rivers’s many fans; adventure and espionage feature prominently in this dynamic new historical series from Woodhouse

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, February 1, 2018

Fans of Stephen King and Deen Koontz will enjoy this twisted tale of the destructive and sinister power of evil; a Regency-era murder exposes the rot that underlies the period’s glitter—highly recommended; alternately pulse-pounding, brutal, and heartbreakingly tender, this original novel still resonates today; Vlautin delivers a deeply compassionate story made more poignant for its unadorned simplicity

A Delicate Balance | Christian Fiction Genre Spotlight

As the genre expands to satisfy a new readership, faith-filled fiction also seeks to retain its core values.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, November 1, 2017

Allende puts a human face on the realities of illegal immigration, broken hearts, courage, and healing; Ellis has written a riveting tale that begs to be read in one sitting; Fans of the Brontës, Charles Dickens, and Victorian gothic fiction will enjoy Politano’s well-crafted debut; for fans of offbeat mysteries, Fowler’s long-running series continues to offer some of the best reading; Ata’s artistry can help readers understand how living with illness changes everything; another stunning achievement from an author who seems to produce only stunning achievements

Christmas Can Be Murder: 27 Tales of Yule

This year there’s plenty of homicide for the holidays, along with a pack of dog stories and all kinds of delicious holiday treats.

Honoring Christian Fiction’s Best | Carol Awards 2017

The 16th annual conference of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), held September 21–24 at the Gaylord Texan Resort and Convention Center in Grapevine, TX, culminated in the awards gala and the announcement of the 2017 Carol Award winners for excellence in Christian fiction.

Reach for Something New | Christian Fiction Reviews

This month’s column features three novella anthologies from popular CF authors spanning suspense, romance, sf, horror, and historical fiction. The Regency Brides Collection, The Assault, and Brides of Montana serve as perfect introductory appetizers for those who may be unsure about what to reach for next.

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A tension-filled tour de force of suspense and human emotions from debuter Nelson; Snow’s action-packed, erotic series concludes with a scintillating Rule Changer; Remender and Murphy turn in one of the most fully realized graphic works of the last decade; Nobel Laureate Modiano, Latin American sensation Gamboa, best-selling Israeli author Nevo, and more; Massey’s fans and historical fiction lovers will enjoy this original outing