LJ Fiction | Review Alert, January 2018

This atmospheric mystery vividly captures a diverse, contemporary L.A. that will still be recognizable to readers of Raymond Chandler; Bujold’s many faithful readers will delight in this engaging blend of mystery and magic; a standout contribution to the ever-increasing subgenre of BDSM erotic fiction; Ball combines a travel adventure with a meditation on human kindness to create a deeply perceptive work of essential truths

RA Back Pocket: Genre Fiction | Wyatt’s World

It’s been a good year for genre fiction, with notable series continuing strong and new titles breaking through and captivating readers. Highlighting the work of key authors, these five sure bets will serve readers’ advisory librarians for a long time to come.

Fiction from Conhaim, Duffy, Gibson, Goldberg, Harrington, Kaaberbøl, Matthews, & Maverick | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for Western fans; the chemistry between Lexie and Sean is enough to melt any ice rink; for those who appreciate the immigrant angle; for libraries with large millennial populations; for fans of the Karno series; a well-written saga; for readers who love series featuring action and alpha heroes

LJ Talks to Joseph Cassara | Debut Spotlight

The great gift of Joseph Cassara’s debut novel, The House of Impossible Beauties is his describing so acutely a little-portrayed community—queer people of color—in luxurious, gorgeously inflected language embodying gracefully intercut portraits to illuminating effect.

Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

1918 Stories | Fiction Reviews

A well balanced story of grief and hardship as a family navigates loss and moving forward; historical fiction and thriller come together with a seamless blend of fact and fiction in post-World War I New Orleans

Worldwide Pearls: Ten Top Titles for Winter Reading

Drawing on personal experience, Bodrožic´ is remarkably adept; Franzosini’s English-language debut is irresistible biographical fiction; for sophisticated readers and lovers of smart, spooky tales; multi-award winner Ørstavik offers an unsettling read that most will enjoy; a darkly propulsive nail-biter overlain with a vivid and piercing study of class tensions

Favorite Thrillers | Fiction Reviews

A must for fans of Steve Berry, written in a way you would almost believe it to be true; a carefully written thriller with great suspense and sensational detail.

LJ Talks to Mira T. Lee | Debut Spotlight

In Mira Lee’s first novel, Everything Here Is Beautiful, the author calls on characters from her short stories, filling out the lives of sisters Miranda and Lucia. Here, Lee discusses crafting these women, her own sibling experiences, and more.

Best Sellers: Books Most Borrowed, November 2017

Grafton pens the penultimate Y Is for Yesterday; What Happened nudges out Elegy