LJ Reference | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

A useful yet uneven compendium on Islam; a solid starting point for a wide range of readers interested in the development and spread of African American business; this impressive communications reference should interest graduate students of the subject

LJ Nonfiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Langer’s homing in on all aspects of negative self-talk and worry add breadth to her advice and make it a powerful tool for readers; for anyone with a strong drive to do something different, this is a truly inspiring read; the importance and epic scale of St. Petersburg comes across vividly in this work; Cooke’s wit, humor, and infectious curiosity will appeal to natural history enthusiasts of all stripes

LJ Media | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

A fun thriller with a terrifically twisted ending; this debut romance is highly recommended for all public libraries; equally informative and entertaining, this set is a must-see for country music fans and budding song­writers; this film celebrates the efforts of the professionals who worked to uncover and report the important stories of their time

Go Get Your Smock! 9 New Craft/DIY Books

Make miniature foods like tiny one-inch pancakes that are topped with even tinier blueberries; create new twists on traditional granny squares; and soar into outer space with creative astronaut crafts. Crafts for the whole family can be found here

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Gabel explores friendship and art with great warmth, humanity, and wisdom; an intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England brings the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life; erotica featuring smart women thriving in business and getting some action after hours

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels

Nonfiction: Dog Behavior, a Sailing Journey, “Weird Math,” Words from Kaku, Stagecraft | Xpress Reviews

For everyone who owns a dog, breeds or trains dogs, or works with dogs; will appeal to readers who enjoy the details of living on the water; for those interested in mathematics and its connections to life’s routines; an inspiring treatise on humanity that incorporates solid physics; all collections serving actors should acquire both monolog titles

Fiction from Gaylin, Kasai, Powell, the Samatars, and Sigurdardóttir | Xpress Reviews

Gaylin’s skillful balance of tension and intimacy will appeal to fans of psychological and domestic suspense; Kasai explores the horrors of slavery and its legacy; the first volume in a new trilogy that will appeal to military sf fans; this series of brief fictions and sketches combine to dazzle the imagination; not up to Sigurdardóttir’s high standards

E-Originals from Grant, Michaels, and Persell | Xpress Reviews

Multiple backstories converge with the main plotline to create a rich tapestry of paranormal romantic interplay; Michaels includes some fun Easter eggs for fans of her previous works; fans of video game culture and strong female protagonists will enjoy this hot, sensual read

Latin American History, February 2018 | Best Sellers

March 2017 to date as identified by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO