Mommy & Me | Fiction Reviews

A debut novel driven by it’s characters tells the story of an unexpected mother and her independent daughter; a comedic take on the ups and downs of becoming a mother; a compelling tearjerker tells the story of a struggling child and loving but incapable mother

Real Life Affairs | Fiction Reviews

A fictional take on the complicated love life of F. Scott Fitzgerald; a richly detailed historical love story illustrating a commonly overlooked romance involving Eleanor Roosevelt

Life in the Green Lane | Collection Development: Sustainable Living

Time will tell if, after devastating hurricanes and wildfires in recent years, people will make the connection between increasingly violent, more frequent weather events and global warming. These 32 resources will help librarians make sense of the issue.

LJ Reference | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

A useful yet uneven compendium on Islam; a solid starting point for a wide range of readers interested in the development and spread of African American business; this impressive communications reference should interest graduate students of the subject

LJ Nonfiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Langer’s homing in on all aspects of negative self-talk and worry add breadth to her advice and make it a powerful tool for readers; for anyone with a strong drive to do something different, this is a truly inspiring read; the importance and epic scale of St. Petersburg comes across vividly in this work; Cooke’s wit, humor, and infectious curiosity will appeal to natural history enthusiasts of all stripes

LJ Media | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

A fun thriller with a terrifically twisted ending; this debut romance is highly recommended for all public libraries; equally informative and entertaining, this set is a must-see for country music fans and budding song­writers; this film celebrates the efforts of the professionals who worked to uncover and report the important stories of their time

Go Get Your Smock! 9 New Craft/DIY Books

Make miniature foods like tiny one-inch pancakes that are topped with even tinier blueberries; create new twists on traditional granny squares; and soar into outer space with creative astronaut crafts. Crafts for the whole family can be found here

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, March 1, 2018

Gabel explores friendship and art with great warmth, humanity, and wisdom; an intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England brings the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life; erotica featuring smart women thriving in business and getting some action after hours

Graphic Novels from Alagbé, Anderson & Carroll, Johnson & Co., and Rohmer & Robbins | Xpress Reviews

Carroll renders a story that fits squarely within the current zeitgeist yet remains a work of art for all time; for fans of Rohmer and Robbins only; Alagbé’s storytelling is often surreal and reads like poetry; originally released in 2008, Incognegro is a valuable book on multiple levels

Nonfiction: Dog Behavior, a Sailing Journey, “Weird Math,” Words from Kaku, Stagecraft | Xpress Reviews

For everyone who owns a dog, breeds or trains dogs, or works with dogs; will appeal to readers who enjoy the details of living on the water; for those interested in mathematics and its connections to life’s routines; an inspiring treatise on humanity that incorporates solid physics; all collections serving actors should acquire both monolog titles