Mystery Writers of America Edgar® Nominees Announced

Today, on what would be the 209th birthday of Edgar Allan Poe (1809–49), the Mystery Writers of America announced its nominees for the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, “honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2017.” The Edgar® Awards will be presented to the winners at the MWA’s 72nd Gala Banquet, on April 26, at New York’s Grand Hyatt Hotel.

Below are the nominees, with LJ/SLJ review links where available.

BEST NOVEL

The Dime by Kathleen Kent (Little, Brown: Mulholland)
“This fast-paced, adrenaline-producing suspense novel will appeal to Karin Slaughter fans; it will also attract crime fiction aficionados who appreciate Minerva Koenig’s Julia Kalas series for its Texas setting and resilient female protagonist with a sixth sense.”—LJ  

Prussian Blue by Philip Kerr (Putnam)

Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke (Little, Brown: Mulholland)
“Locke, winner of the Harper Lee Prize for legal fiction (Pleasantville) and a writer and producer of the show Empire, has woven an atmospheric, convoluted mystery seasoned with racial tension and family loyalty.”—LJ starred review

A Rising Man by Abir Mukherjee (Pegasus)
“Winner of the Harvill Secker Daily Telegraph crime writing competition, this stirring, entertaining first mystery bursts with lively, colorful historical details about colonial Calcutta.”—LJ starred review

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti (Dial)

BEST FIRST NOVEL BY AN AMERICAN AUTHOR

She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper (Ecco)
“This emotional and fast-paced tale will stick with mature teens who appreciate gritty contemporary fare.”—SLJ

Dark Chapter by Winnie M. Li (Polis)
“What is striking about this acclaimed first novel (highly recommended for the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger) is that not only is it based on an incident in the author’s life, but the facility with which Li is able to intertwine the life stories of Vivian and Johnny, giving each substance and depth, sacrificing her own biases to create a clear sight line for the reader.”—SLJ starred review

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love (Crown)
“Lola’s resilience and loyalty will have them wanting to see more of the genre’s newest heroine and her creator.”—LJ starred review (see SLJ review here)

Tornado Weather by Deborah E. Kennedy (Flatiron)—Xpress Reviews

Idaho by Emily Ruskovich (Random)—LJ review

BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

In Farleigh Field by Rhys Bowen (Thomas & Mercer: Amazon)

Ragged Lake by Ron Corbett (ECW)

Black Fall by Andrew Mayne (Harper)

The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola (Sourcebooks Landmark)
“…for fans of Sarah Waters.”—LJ review

Penance by Kanae Minato (Little, Brown: Mulholland)
“Minato is two for two for twisted psychological Japanese noir.”—LJ audiobook review

The Rules of Backyard Cricket by Jock Serong (Text)

BEST FACT CRIME

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann (Doubleday)—starred LJ review, an LJ Best Book of 2017

The Road to Jonestown: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple by Jeff Guinn (S. & S.)
“Replicating the success of his biograph­­­­­­y of Charles Manson, the author also delivers a nuanced portrait of Jones’s descent into paranoid megalomania.”—LJ review, an LJ editors’ pick

American Fire: Love, Arson, and Life in a Vanishing Land by Monica Hesse (Liveright: Norton)
“…a microcosm of the desolation of rural America and a metaphor for the emptiness that continues to pervade many areas of the country.”—LJ review

The Man From the Train: The Solving of a Century-Old Serial Killer Mystery by Bill and Rachel McCarthy James (Scribner: S. & S.)—LJ review

Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca (St. Martin’s)
“Ricca has parlayed an obscure reference to Mrs. Sherlock Holmes in his earlier research into a spellbinding true crime history that reads like a novel. It will be enjoyed by aficionados of Victorian crime novels as well as true crime fans.”—LJ starred review

BEST CRITICAL/BIOGRAPHICAL

From Holmes to Sherlock: The Story of the Men and Women Who Created an Icon by Mattias Bostrom (Mysterious Press: Grove Atlantic)—LJ review

Manderley Forever: A Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay (St. Martin’s)
“This outstanding biography will attract du Maurier devotees of all ages.” —LJ starred review

Murder in the Closet: Essays on Queer Clues in Crime Fiction Before Stonewall by Curtis Evans (McFarland)

Chester B. Himes: A Biography by Lawrence P. Jackson (Norton)

Arthur and Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims (Bloomsbury USA)

BEST SHORT STORY

“Spring Break” – New Haven Noir by John Crowley (Akashic)

“Hard to Get” – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Jeffery Deaver (Dell Magazines)

“Ace in the Hole” – Montana Noir by Eric Heidle (Akashic)—Xpress Reviews

“A Moment of Clarity at the Waffle House” – Atlanta Noir by Kenji Jasper (Akashic)

“Chin Yong-Yun Stays at Home” – Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by S.J. Rozan (Dell Magazines)

BEST JUVENILE

Audacity Jones Steals the Show by Kirby Larson (Scholastic)— SLJ audiobook review

Vanished! by James Ponti (Aladdin: S. & S.)

The Assassin’s Curse by Kevin Sands (Aladdin: S. & S.)

First Class Murder by Robin Stevens (S. & S. BFYR)

NewsPrints by Ru Xu (Scholastic – Graphix)
“the first in what should be a popular new series”—SLJ review

BEST YOUNG ADULT

The Cruelty by Scott Bergstrom (Feiwel & Friends: Macmillan)— SLJ review

Grit by Gillian French (HarperTeen: HarperCollins)
“This page-turner will hold the interest of mystery fans.”—SLJ review

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak (S. & S.)—SLJ review

Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds (Atheneum: S. & S.)
“…will pair well with Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and Reynolds’s previous works. The unique narrative structure also makes it an excellent read-alike for Walter Dean Myers’s Monster.”—SLJ starred review

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Balzer + Bray: HarperCollins)
“Pair this powerful debut with Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely’s All American Boys to start a conversation on racism, police brutality, and the Black Lives Matter movement.”—SLJ starred review, an SLJ Best Book of 2017

BEST TELEVISION EPISODE TELEPLAY

“Episode 1” – Loch Ness, Teleplay by Stephen Brady (Acorn TV)

“Something Happened” – Law and Order: SVU, Teleplay by Michael Chernuchin (NBC Universal/Wolf Entertainment)

“Somebody To Love” – Fargo, Teleplay by Noah Hawley (FX Networks/MGM)

“Gently and the New Age” – George Gently, Teleplay by Robert Murphy (Acorn TV)

“The Blanket Mire” – Vera, Teleplay by Paul Matthew Thompson & Martha Hillier (Acorn TV)

ROBERT L. FISH MEMORIAL AWARD

Selected by the committee for the best  published mystery short story by a previously unpublished American author

“The Queen of Secrets” – New Haven Noir by Lisa D. Gray (Akashic)

THE SIMON & SCHUSTER MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD

Guidelines for this award include: a nice young female protagonist with primarily good family relationships and a good job who “solves her problem by her own courage and intelligence”; no on-scene violence, profanity, or explicit sex scenes.

The Vineyard Victims by Ellen Crosby (Minotaur: St. Martin’s)

You’ll Never Know, Dear by Hallie Ephron (Morrow)

The Widow’s House by Carol Goodman (Morrow)
“…resonant references to local folklore and to literature such as Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper and Edgar Allan Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher combine with influences from both classic gothic works and domestic suspense novels in Goodman’s chilling 14th novel.”—LJ review

Uncorking a Lie by Nadine Nettmann (Midnight Ink)

The Day I Died by Lori Rader-Day (Morrow)
“Mary Higgins Clark Award winner Rader-Day’s third novel will thrill readers who can’t get enough of the psychological suspense genre.”—LJ review

 

 

CONNECTING INDIE AUTHORS, LIBRARIES AND READERS
SELF-eLearn More
SELF-e is an innovative collaboration between Library Journal and BiblioBoard® that enables authors and libraries to work together and expose notable self-published ebooks to voracious readers looking to discover something new. Finally, a simple and effective way to catalog and provide access to ebooks by local authors and build a community around indie writing!
Share
Liz French About Liz French

Library Journal Senior Editor Liz French edits nonfiction and women's fiction reviews at LJ and also compiles the "What We're Reading" and "Classic Returns" columns for LJ online. She's inordinately interested in what you're reading as well. Email: efrench@mediasourceinc.com, Twitter: @lizefrench

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  4. Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media, per our Terms of Use.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*