2015 Andrew Carnegie Medal Winners | ALA 2015

Each year, the American Library Association (ALA) awards the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.

Honoring the festivities at this year’s annual conference in San Francisco were outgoing ALA president Courtney Young, presenting the welcome address; author and basketball legend Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, delivering the keynote; and Carnegie Medals Selection Committee Member Donna Seaman, announcing the winners.


Top Left: Fiction winner Anthony Doerr accepting his award; Bottom Left: Nonfiction winner Bryan Stevenson sharing a smile; Right: Kareem Abdul Jabaar giving the keynote. Photos by Tom Graves and James Rosso/TwiceHeroes.com

Below is the shortlist, with the winners highlighted:


All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Published by Scribner, a division of Simon & Schuster.

Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín. Published by Scribner, a division of Simon & Schuster.

On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee. Published by Riverhead Books, a member of Penguin Group (USA).


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson. Published by Spiegel & Grau, an imprint of Random House.

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert. Published by Henry Holt.

Thirteen Days in September: Carter, Begin, and Sadat at Camp David by Lawrence Wright. Published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House.

The longlist featured books that LJ considered the best of 2014, including A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James (Riverhead), The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell (Random), Us by David Nicholls (Harper), and No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State by Glenn Greenwald (Holt). Visit ala.org for more information on the complete longlist.

At the awards, ALA announced that going forward, the Andrew Carnegie awards will be aligned with the association’s other notable awards such as the Newbery and the Caldecott. Shortlists will be announced in the fall, with the 2016 shortlist being released in October 2015, and the winners will be announced at each ALA Midwinter Meeting.

About Stephanie Sendaula

Stephanie Sendaula (ssendaula@mediasourceinc.com) is an Associate Editor at Library Journal.