First Novelists Anolik, Fuller, Joy, Klaber, Moss, Nguyen, & Others | Debut Fiction, February 15, 2015

redstarAnolik, Lili. Dark Rooms. Morrow. Mar. 2015. 336p. ISBN 9780062345868. $25.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062345882. F

darkrooms21715Gregarious, fun-loving, and athletic Nica, the younger of two sisters, is murdered near their home on the grounds of a New England private school. The crime is quickly solved, but Grace, who has always lived in Nica’s shadow, is not satisfied with the police’s findings and grows obsessed with catching the true killer. However, the story line just scratches the surface of this insightful, complex novel, which is all about angst: broken relationships, class and social issues, the human psyche. The author skillfully develops Grace as a complicated character, using her perspective to get readers to empathize with her reactions to events around her. The other adolescent characters are equally well drawn. Anolik excels in capturing the nonplussed attitudes of teenagers not fully aware of the ramifications of their actions. VERDICT Despite an ambiguous ending that left this crime fiction fan somewhat dissatisfied, Anolik’s haunting debut is tough to put down and will stay with you for a long time. The author’s characters and tone recall Donna Tartt’s The Secret History or Kimberly Pauley’s Ask Me. [See Preub Alert, 9/15/14.]—Frances Thorsen, Chronicles of Crime Bookshop, Victoria, BC

Crawford, Susan. The Pocket Wife. Morrow. Mar. 2015. 320p. ISBN 9780062362858. $25.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062362872. F

After teacher Celia Steinhauser is found murdered in her home, Dana ­Catrell learns she was the last person to see her neighbor alive. Dana remembers arguing at Celia’s house that day over a compromising photograph Celia had taken of Dana’s husband. Unfortunately, they also drank too much sangria, and she can’t remember anything else about the afternoon. As Dana investigates, she finds disturbing notes and other clues that cause her to question her own memory and suspect that she herself may have killed Celia. She is simultaneously consumed by building mania owing to her bipolar disorder. The captivating narration reflects Celia’s progressively elated and fractured thoughts as she moves from energetic clarity to sleeplessness and self-destructive chaos. Alternating chapters follow diligent police detective Jack Moss as he navigates the many suspects (including his own son, a student of Celia’s). In the final confrontation, the killer’s confession comes a bit too easily, but the resolution is surprising, neat, and satisfying. VERDICT Descriptive, lyrical prose creates an intimate and visceral read that is both a solid mystery and a fast-paced psychological thriller. Try this first novel as a read-alike for Alice LaPlante’s Turn of Mind. [See Prepub Alert, 9/15/14.]—Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR

Duffy, Brendan. House of Echoes. Ballantine. Apr. 2015. 384p. ISBN 9780804178112. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780804178129. F

houseofechoes21715Ben and Caroline Tierney had several reasons for moving their family to the Crofts, an old mansion nestled near the mountains of upstate New York. Having lost her job and struggling with a recent diagnosis of bipolar disorder, Caroline throws herself into renovating the old house with the hopes of opening a B&B. Ben tries to placate his volatile wife, even though his heart isn’t in the renovation, and eight-year-old Charlie increasingly spends more time in the woods with a presence he calls The Watcher. In the meantime, Ben feels strangely compelled to learn as much as he can about the home, its former inhabitants, and the nearby village of Swannhaven. The locals indulge his curiosity and accept him as one of their own, but little does he know the cost of learning the town’s secrets. VERDICT Debut novelist Duffy expertly builds suspense, leaving readers eager to know what happens while simultaneously dreading the outcome. This creepy page-turner will appeal to fans of Stephen King and anyone who loves a good ghost story.—Vicki Briner, Westminster, CO

Eyre, Hermione. Viper Wine. Hogarth: Crown. Apr. 2015. 432p. ISBN 9780553419351. $25; ebk. ISBN 9780553419368. F

At the ripe age of 32, Lady Venetia Digby is worried that she is losing her famous looks. The Princess Diana of her day and the wife of Sir Kenelm Digby, she was celebrated in poetry by John Donne and Ben Jonson and in paintings by Anthony van Dyck. Her adoring husband, an apothecary, adventurer, and bibliomaniac, famous for his scientific discoveries and his recipes (a posthumous cookbook attributes bacon and eggs to him) suggests a remedy of snail slime to restore her youthful beauty and forbids her to seek treatment elsewhere. In secret, she searches out a practitioner who dispenses a restorative tonic made of viper innards mixed with wine and opium. Alas, this botoxlike concoction proves both addictive and dangerous—for her and for many ladies at the court of Charles I. VERDICT With contemporary people and events—Groucho Marx and Andy Warhol, global warming and stem-cell research—oddly popping into the 1600s landscape, this debut novel presents a fascinating glimpse into how artists and poets once worked (using assistants for the hard labor), how vain women sought out the promise of youth, and how little has changed from that time to this. A fact-filled fiction that entertains and enlightens. [See Prepub Alert, 10/27/14.]—Barbara Love, ­formerly with Kingston Frontenac P.L., Ont.

redstarFuller, Claire. Our Endless Numbered Days. Tin House. Mar. 2015. 388p. ISBN 9781941040010. pap. $15.95. F

endlessnumbereddays21715At the opening of this standout debut, eight-year-old narrator Peggy Hillcoat is content with her unconventional life in London. Her mother, Ute, is a concert pianist, while her father, James, a North London Retreater, prepares for the end of the world. Ute refuses to join his scheme, and Peggy prefers Sugar Puffs with milk to squirrel cooked on a stick over a campfire. After a violent argument with another Retreater, James grabs Peggy and their supplies and hikes to a hidden wilderness cabin. Die Hutte, as it’s called, is dilapidated and reeks of animal smells. Peggy bursts into tears and hides behind the stove, where she spots the name Reuben carved on the wall. Even though her father tells Peggy the universe has vanished, she privately looks for Reuben while living in relative comfort for eight years until James’s fits of rage and weeping turn her against him. Finally, she learns what drove James into the wilderness, even as she harbors one last secret of her own. VERDICT Though not always easy reading, Fuller’s emotionally intense novel comes to an unexpected but rewarding conclusion. Don’t let this gripping story pass you by.—Donna Bettencourt, Mesa Cty. P.L., Palisade, CO

redstarHaig, Francesca. The Fire Sermon. Gallery. Mar. 2015. 384p. ISBN 9781476767185. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781476767246. F

A nuclear apocalypse has devastated the human race and planet Earth. Animal species are wiped out, the ground no longer produces enough food, and humans now have a genetic quirk—all babies are born as twins, one deformed and one “perfect.” This determines a child’s station in life, either as member of the ruling class known as Alphas, or the downtrodden Omegas. As children Cass and Zach are both “perfect,” until Zach betrays Cass’s hidden Omega secret. Cass can see the future, a dangerous and feared ability that only occurs in rare Omegas. Meanwhile, Zach prospers in the Alpha hierarchy and works toward building a society that will all but destroy the Omegas. Cass sees the future her brother envisions and journeys to find help from a hidden Omega resistance, hoping to change the course of humanity. VERDICT In her fiction debut, award-winning poet Haig beautifully details a ruined world and primitive society divided by class. Readers who enjoy the “Hunger Games” series, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising, and like-minded dystopian literature will enjoy this first title in a trilogy.—­Jennifer Funk, McKendree Univ. Lib., Lebanon, IL

Imrie, Celia. Not Quite Nice. Bloomsbury USA. Mar. 2015. 336p. ISBN 9781632860323. pap. $16; ebk. ISBN 9781632860330. F

Theresa is starting over—divorce, corporate downsizing, and diabolical grandchildren have pushed her to the limit. Moving from Britain to a charming and carefree life in France sounds perfect. Until a naked man falls into her courtyard. Nearly caught by his wife in flagrante, he gratefully accepts Theresa’s blanket and makes off in a hurry; little does Theresa know she’ll soon have a run-in with said wife. Local expats rally around Theresa, and her days are quickly filled with socializing and strategizing her new cooking club. After a spate of burglaries, Theresa finds out who her friends truly are. A cinematic denouement followed by an equally dramatic conclusion ties it all in a bow. Actress (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel) Imrie’s lighthearted first novel touches on real-world financial, occupational, and familial concerns of older readers in a way that’s genuine and yet reminiscent of old Hollywood movies. The dominance of the dialog is a roadblock to connecting with the characters, and while there are some surprises, it’s clear who some of the villains are early on. VERDICT Recommended for readers seeking a breezy read with a touch of romance and mystery and a heroine they can relate to.—­Amy Brozio-Andrews, Albany P.L., NY

redstarJoy, David. Where All Light Tends To Go. Putnam. Mar. 2015. 272p. ISBN 9780399172779. $26.95; ebk. ISBN 9780698182585. F

wherealllighttendstogo21715Upon turning 16, Jacob McNeely drops out of high school to work for his father, who runs a meth ring in the mountains of western North Carolina. A few years later, he is tasked with disposing of Robbie—one of his father’s meth suppliers—but the killing is botched when ­Robbie is found, barely alive. At the same time, ­Jacob’s attempt at rekindling his relationship with ex-girlfirend Maggie is thwarted when he is arrested for assaulting Maggie’s new boyfriend. Tension escalates among the ­McNeely family members as Jacob’s father becomes paranoid that Robbie will squeal to the cops about Jacob’s role. VERDICT Readers of Southern grit lit in the tradition of Daniel Woodrell and Harry Crews will enjoy this fast-paced debut thriller by the author of Growing Gills: A Fly Fisherman’s Journey. Fan of Ron Rash’s novels will appreciate the intricate plot and Joy’s establishment of a strong sense of place in his depiction of rural Appalachia.—Russell Michalak, Goldey-Beacom Coll. Lib., Wilmington, DE

Kapoor, Deepti. A Bad Character. Knopf. 2015. 256p. ISBN 9780385352741. $24.95; ebk. ISBN 9780385352758. F

This promising debut explores the intense, short-term relationship that the novel’s young female narrator commences with the title’s ostensibly “bad character.” Idha’s lover is unnamed, giving the dark-skinned, unattractive, moody, and wealthy youth an even greater air of mystery. He introduces Idha to a slice of Delhi life spiked with cigarettes, drugs, alcohol, and passionate sex. This slice is juxtaposed to the mundane, even sedate existence she leads with her aunt, who intends to marry her off to the first appropriate prospect who comes along. Kapoor seduces readers with the breathless pace of a first-person, nonlinear narrative told by a young woman desperate to escape the comfort of her present situation and a likely staid future as a married woman. The author describes Delhi with courage and without sentimentality, capturing the allure of forbidden but accessible fruit for Idha and thus for any young Indian woman. VERDICT The real appeal of this novel is that Kapoor never allows her young narrator a final resolution. Idha continues seeking her independence and pursuing bad characters, arguably including herself. Recommended as a counter to fiction that romanticizes contemporary India and especially the lives of women there.—Faye Chadwell, Oregon State Univ., Corvallis

Kelly, Lee. City of Savages. Saga: S. & S. Feb. 2015. 416p. ISBN 9781481410304. $25.99; ebk. ISBN 978148141032. SF

The survivors of a terrible war huddle in a POW camp located in New York’s Central Park every winter, controlled by wardens put in place by the victorious Red Allies. Teens Phee and Sky, along with their mother, Sarah, spend summers on their own in lower Manhattan, yet like all other New Yorkers they must show up in the park every winter. Mischance puts them at odds with warden Rolladin and they run from the park, only to fall into an even more dangerous situation where everything they thought they knew about their family and the wider world is wrong. VERDICT This dystopian debut is more likely to appeal to teens than adults, with chapters alternating between bookish Sky and her fiercer sister Phee and tending toward melodrama when they both fall for the same refugee boy who arrives with a group from England.—Megan M. McArdle, San Diego

redstarKlaber, William. The Rebellion of Miss Lucy Ann Lobdell. St. Martin’s. Feb. 2015. 288p. ISBN 9781250061874. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781466867956. F

rebellionofmisslobdell21715Making his fiction debut (originally self-published in 2013), journalist Klaber (Shadow Play) has cleverly constructed a wonderful story of the very real Lucy Ann Lobdell, a headstrong, free-thinking 19th-century woman who was very much ahead of her time. Drawing on the research of New York historian Jack Niflot, the narrative follows Lobdell on her adventures as she struggles to define herself in a man’s world and to reinvent her own sexual identity. Klaber divides the book into three sections: Lobdell’s stint in Bethany, PA, as a music teacher; her time in the Minnesota wilderness dealing with unbearable cold and living among Native Americans; and her years traveling through various parts of Delaware and Pennsylvania. VERDICT Covering the same period as Laird Hunt’s Neverhome and Kathy and Becky Hepinstall’s Sisters of Shiloh, this novel is similar to both titles in terms of exploring a woman’s journey of self-discovery in a time when women had little freedom or rights. This is an important book that will take its rightful place in the annals of quality historical fiction.—Mariel Pachucki, Maple Valley, WA

Landau, Alexis. The Empire of the Senses. Pantheon. Mar. 2014. 496p. ISBN 9781101870075. $27.95; ebk. ISBN 9781101870082. F

This highly ambitious first novel by an author currently working on a PhD in English literature and creative writing sweeps us from a village on the Eastern Front during World War I to postwar Jewish settlements in Palestine and Buenos Aires, while the main story unfolds in Berlin, with World War II on the horizon. Though in one respect a historical saga, the work is especially an intimate look at the four members of the Pearlmutter family. Lev, a successful Jewish merchant, longs for Leah, whom he met at the front, while his marriage seems to have lost all appeal for his aristocratic, gentile wife, Josephine. Son Franz is both politically and sexually confused and makes bad choices that lead to disaster. Rebellious yet fashionable daughter Vicki falls in love with a young Jew from Aunt Leah’s village who miraculously materializes in Berlin with news of his aunt. ­VERDICT Told with a wealth of detail, the novel seems to transpire in real time; the pace here is stately but engaging. Recommended for those who enjoy stories of this time period and, more broadly, those that deal with age-old human emotions and dilemmas against a foreign backdrop.—Edward B. Cone, New York

starred review starMaresca, Marshall Ryan. The Thorn of Dentonhill. DAW. (Maradaine, Bk. 1). Feb. 2015. 400p. ISBN 9780756410261. pap. $7.99; ebk. ISBN 9780698180093. FANTASY
As a student mage at the University of Maradaine, Veranix has a secret: at night he sneaks off campus to thwart the drug dealers operating in the slums of nearby ­Dentonhill. He is determined to get as much of the drug known as effitte off the streets as possible, having seen its devastating effects when his own mother was forcibly fed the drug and left brain dead. Balancing his studies and his secret work as a vigilante gets much more difficult after he takes something stolen from the local crime boss that a local mage circle desperately want back. VERDICT ­Veranix is Batman, if Batman were a teenager and magically talented. His uncompromising devotion to crushing the local crime boss encourages him to take foolish risks, but his resourcefulness keeps our hero one step ahead of those who seek to bring him down. Action, adventure, and magic in a school setting will appeal to those who love Harry Potter and Patrick Rothfuss’s The Name of the Wind.—Megan M. McArdle, San Diego

redstarMoss, Barbara Klein. The Language of Paradise. Norton. Apr. 2015. 384p. ISBN 9780393057133. $26.95; ebk. ISBN 9780393247091. F

languageofparadise21715When Gideon Birdsall first catches sight of Sophy Hedge’s private joyful dance in a sunlit meadow, he imagines her as some wild abandoned wood nymph, not the parson’s daughter, and she, suddenly aware of being watched, thinks him more an angel than her father’s zealous student invited for Sunday dinner. But mythical images cannot survive the brutal demands of daily life, and their marriage lies stagnant until the appearance of a mysterious and mesmerizing schoolmaster transforms them into parents of a child who will be the ultimate proof of Gideon’s passionate philological quest. Ugly reality, in the form of 19th-century New England prejudice, soon intrudes into their paradise and, cast out of Eden, it is the more mundane Sophy and not the brilliant Gideon who guides their little family back into the real world. VERDICT A linguistic tour de force whose deft exploration of language, intellect, family, love, nature, and art will delight discerning readers everywhere, especially fans of Nathaniel Hawthorne and Henry James.—Cynthia Johnson, Cary Memorial Lib., Lexington, MA

redstarNguyen, Viet Thanh. The Sympathizer. Grove. Apr. 2015. 384p. ISBN 9780802123459. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780802191694. F

Written as a postwar confessional, this novel begins with its nameless protagonist, a highly placed young aide to a general in the South Vietnamese army, recalling how he finalized the details of escape before the fall of Saigon. But our hero is a double agent, a communist sympathizer who will continue to feed information to the North even after he makes the harrowing escape with his loyalist friend Bon and the general’s family on the last plane out, and becomes part of the Vietnamese refugee community in Southern California. Breathtakingly cynical, the novel has its hilarious moments; the reader will especially enjoy Nguyen’s take on 1970s American life. To maintain his cover, our hero must become entangled in the general’s underground resistance group, which plots a return to Vietnam through Cambodia, and the tale turns seriously dark. VERDICT Ultimately a meditation on war, political movements, America’s imperialist role, the CIA, torture, loyalty, and one’s personal identity, this is a powerful, thought-­provoking work. It’s hard to believe this effort, one of the best recent novels to cover the Vietnamese conflict from an Asian perspective, is a debut. This is right up there with Denis Johnson’s Tree of Smoke. [See Prepub Alert, 10/27/14.]—Reba Leiding, emeritus, James ­Madison Univ. Lib., Harrisonburg, VA

Palaia, Marian. The Given World. S. & S. Apr. 2015. 240p. ISBN 9781476777931. $25; ebk. ISBN 9781476778051. F

Riley’s older brother Mick is everything to her. His knowledge of the world, his music, his motorcycle—all light up her provincial existence on their Montana farm during the Sixties. It’s traumatic enough for Riley when Mick leaves, first for college, then to fight in the Vietnam War, but when he is reported missing in action, life becomes a crushing burden for Riley. What follows are years of wandering from one place to another and a revolving door of relationships, jobs, and coping mechanisms. Whether she is in San Francisco or Vietnam, delivering newspapers or tending bar, getting high or getting drunk, Riley can never escape the hole left in her heart by Mick’s disappearance. VERDICT Riley tentatively connects with many characters and then loses them, and it is sometimes hard to keep track of all these downtrodden souls. There is a meaninglessness to Riley’s experiences that don’t seem to amount to anything in the end except a general exhaustion. However, debut novelist Palaia’s prose is hypnotizing, and her fresh descriptions make the sadness portrayed bearable. This is a somber literary read but not without a dark beauty. [See Prepub Alert, 10/27/14.]—Joy Humphrey, ­Pepperdine Univ. Law Lib., Malibu, CA

Ritchell, Ross. The Knife. Blue Rider: Penguin. Feb. 2015. 272p. ISBN 9780399173400. $25.95; ebk. ISBN 9780698185623. F

theknife21715In this debut novel of contemporary war, an army special operations unit is sent to Afghanistan to root out a mysterious terror cell. Dutch Shaw is part of an elite special operations unit assigned to take out high-value targets. On this mission, they’re after the leader of a shadowy new organization called al-Ayeelaa. The novel follows Shaw and his fellow soldiers through the alternating boredom and terror of their mission, focusing as much on the rough camaraderie of the men in the unit as the battle action. All goes relatively well until a tip provided by a “cooperative” captured Afghan (who turns out to be the head of al-Ayeelaa) leads the men into a trap. Ritchell, a former special operations soldier, explores both the macho swagger of these hardened soldiers and their more introspective moments in an almost journal-like manner. VERDICT While not short of action scenes, the novel is at its best when it probes the soldiers’ misgivings about the job they’re asked to do and the fine line between killing enemy combatants and murder that can exist in a battle zone where civilians and soldiers are intermingled. A simultaneously tough and thoughtful work. [See Prepub Alert, 8/4/14.]—Lawrence ­Rungren, Andover, MA

starred review starSmale, Alan. Clash of Eagles. Del Rey: Ballantine. (Hesperian Trilogy, Bk. 1). Mar. 2015. 410p. ISBN 9780804177221. $27; ebk. ISBN 9780804177238. FANTASY
Gaius Marcellinus commands a Roman legion intent on conquering North America in 1200 CE, and they have made a bloody progress despite resistance from the Iroquois. But real disaster strikes when the legion attempts to take the great city of the Cahokia and Gaius’s men are wiped out. Spared by the Cahokia, Gaius decides to help them in their ongoing struggles against neighboring tribes. VERDICT Just when it seems there is nothing new in the category of alternative history comes this debut; the novella on which this novel is based won the 2010 Sidewise Award for Alternate History. The world of pre-Columbian mound-building peoples who lived along the Mississippi is full of wonders both real and wildly improbable (if entertaining). Even Smale’s wildest fancies, such as hang-gliding ­native braves, somehow seem possible as they are described so convincingly in the many violent battle scenes. Not much is actually known about the mound builders, leaving lots of room for Smale to play in what looks to be an ongoing series.—Megan M. McArdle, San Diego

Solomon, Asali. Disgruntled. Farrar. Feb. 2015. 256p. ISBN 9780374140342. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780374712952. F

This much-anticipated first novel from ­Solomon (following her highly regarded collection, Get Down) is the coming-of-age story of a young African American woman going through a childhood and adolescence in 1980s Philadelphia that are more difficult than most. Straddling two diverse worlds, with two very different (and difficult) parents, is Kenya’s burden. She knows her family is unusual; most kids don’t call their dad Baba, celebrate Kwanzaa, shun pork, or have a group of semimilitant activists called the Seven Days meeting in their home. Kenya’s father, Johnbrown, is not so much a civil rights activist as a self-styled philosopher and author. He’s obsessed with past martyrs, especially a black servant who gruesomely murdered the mistress of Frank Lloyd Wright and several others in 1914 Wisconsin. When Kenya’s parents split up, her life changes as she and her mother, a librarian, move to a safer part of the city and Kenya is accepted into an expensive all-girls school. VERDICT Will Kenya flourish at her new school, go to college, and become upwardly mobile, as her hardworking but dissatisfied mother wants? Where does Kenya belong? How will she find her own path, and her own identity, not one defined by her past and her parents? Solomon addresses all these questions with consummate grace.—Shaunna E. Hunter, Hampden-Sydney Coll. Lib., VA

redstarSwanson, Cynthia. The Bookseller. Harper. Mar. 2015. 352p. ISBN 9780062333001. $25.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062333025. F

bookseller21715With her freshly painted sunny yellow bedroom in 1962 Denver, Kitty Miller leads a content if solitary life. Running a bookshop with her best friend, Frieda, is a welcome break from teaching school. Everything about Kitty’s life seems benignly commonplace until she begins waking up in another bedroom, in another life: a life in which she is another version of herself. She wakes up as Katharyn Andersson in 1963 Denver, married to Lars, a man who had answered a personal ad 1962 Kitty Miller had placed—but 1962 Lars never showed up for their date. Katharyn and Lars have three children and move in a sphere Kitty doesn’t know about. As Kitty investigates the two worlds of Katharyn and Kitty, she sees parallels and choices, trade-offs and sacrifices. VERDICT This is a stunner of a debut novel, astonishingly tight and fast paced. The 1960s tone is elegant and even, and Kitty/Katharyn’s journey is intriguing, redolent with issues of family, independence, friendship, and free will. This will especially resonate with fans of the movie Sliding Doors and the authors Anna Quindlen and Anita Shreve. [See Prepub Alert, 9/15/14.]—Julie Kane, Sweet Briar Coll. Lib., VA

Zander, Joakim. The Swimmer. Harper. Feb. 2015. 432p. tr. from Swedish by Elizabeth Clark Wessel. ISBN 9780062337245. $27.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062337283. F

Billed as Homeland meets Stieg Larsson and already an international best seller, this Swedish thriller from debut author Zander lives up to the hype. Klara Walldeen was raised by her grandparents on a remote archipelago in the Baltic Sea and is now an EU Parliament aide in Brussels. Ex-boyfriend Mahmoud, a graduate student writing his dissertation on the privatization of war, arrives in Brussels to give a presentation and then reaches out to Klara when he ends up in a dangerous situation. They’re soon tracking down a laptop full of classified information and being chased across Europe by someone intent on killing them. Meanwhile, an American spy finds his past catching up with him and tries to make it right by helping Klara. Back in Sweden, truths finally begin to emerge after a brutal convergence of the hunters and the hunted. VERDICT The chapters alternate between different and not always named characters and jumps from one decade and locale to another, which makes the novel’s beginning both intriguing and disorienting. Despite the potential for some initial confusion, the book rewards with a suspenseful story of international espionage and political misdeeds. [See Prepub Alert, 8/11/14; library marketing.]—Melissa DeWild, Kent District Lib., Comstock Park, MI

This article was published in Library Journal. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Share