2013 Academy of American Poets Prizes

The Academy of American Poets has announced the winners of its annual series of poetry prizes, awarding over $200,000 to poets at various stages of their careers. Congratulations to Philip Levine, Carolyn Forché, Patricia Smith, John Taylor, Jillian Weise, Sylvain Gallais and Cynthia Hogue.

Philip Levine (News of the World, Knopf, 2011) has received the Wallace Stevens Award, which is given annually to recognize outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry. Established in 1994, the award carries a stipend of $100,000.



Carolyn Forché (Blue Hour, Harper, 2004) has received the Academy Of American Poets Fellowship. Established in 1946, this prize recognizes distinguished poetic achievement and carries with it a stipend of $25,000.


Patricia Smith’s book Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah (Coffee House, 2012) has received the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. Awarded by the Academy of American Poets since 1994, this $25,000 prize recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year.


John Taylor (If Night Is Falling, Bitter Oleander Pr., 2012) has won the Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Fellowship for his work on the translation of Selected Poems by Lorenzo Calogero. Established in 1995, this prize recognizes outstanding translations of modern Italian poetry into English through a $10,000 book award and a $25,000 fellowship, which are given in alternating years.

Jillian Weise’s book The Book of Goodbyes (BOA Editions, 2013) has won the James Laughlin Award, which recognizes a superior second book of poetry by an American poet. Offered since 1954 and endowed in 1995 by the Drue Heinz Trust, the annual award is named for the poet and publisher James Laughlin, founder of New Directions. The winning poet receives a cash prize of $5,000 and the Academy of American Poets distributes copies of the book to its thousands of members.


Sylvain Gallais and Cynthia Hogue’s translation of Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy’s Fortino Sámano (The Overflowing of the Poem) (Omnidawn, 2012) has won the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award. Founded in 1976, this $1,000 prize recognizes a published translation of poetry from any language into English that demonstrates literary excellence. A noted translator chooses the winning book.

Chris Hosea’s manuscript, Put Your Hands In, won the Walt Whitman Award. Established in 1975 to encourage the work of emerging poets, the award includes first-book publication, a cash prize of $5,000, and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center.





In addition, the Academy of American Poets sponsors over 200 annual College Prizes for Poetry, distributing close to $25,000 each year.

Annalisa Pesek About Annalisa Pesek

Annalisa Pesek (apesek@mediasourceinc.com) is Assistant Managing Editor, LJ Book Review
[photograph by John Sarsgard]