2013 Winners of Poetry Contributor Prizes

Congratulations to Eliza Griswold, Anna Maria Hong, Laura Kasischke,  Randall Mann, Joshua Mehigan, Seamus Murphy, Idra Novey, Miller Oberman, and Michael Robbins, the winners of eight prizes awarded for poems, prose, and visual content published in Poetry from October 2012 to September 2013.

Prize winner Joshua Mehigan

The Levinson Prize
Joshua Mehigan is awarded Poetry‘s oldest prize for his poems “The Professor,” “The Cement Plant” and “Down in the Valley,” which appeared in the October 2012 issues of Poetry, and “The Orange Bottlein February 2013. Mehigan’s second book of poems Accepting the Disaster is forthcoming from Farrar.
Presented annually since 1914 through the generosity of the late Salmon O. Levinson and his family, the Levinson Prize has been awarded to poets such as Wallace Stevens (1920), Edna St. Vincent Millay (1931), H.D. (1938), e.e. Cummings (1939), Dylan Thomas (1945), Muriel Rukeyser (1947), John Berryman (1950), Anne Sexton (1962), John Ashbery (1977), Yusef Komunyakaa (1997), and Rita Dove (1998) in the amount of $500.

The Bess Hokin Prize
National Book Critics Award winner Laura Kasischke (Space, In Chains, Copper Canyon) is awarded for her poems “Ativan,” “Game,” “The Second Death” and “You’ve Come Back to Me” in October  2012. She lives in Chelsea, MI with her husband and son.
Established in 1948 through the generosity of Poetry’s late friend and guarantor Mrs. David Hokin, the Bess Hokin Prize awards $1,000. Past winners include Ruth Stone (1953), Sylvia Plath (1957), W.S. Merwin (1962), Adrienne Rich (1963), and Paul Muldoon (1996).

Prize winner Anna Maria Hong

The Frederick Bock Prize
Anna Maria Hong’s poems “Pluralisms” and “A Fable” appeared in April 2013. Hong teaches creative writing at the UCLA Extension Writers’ Program and was the 2010–11 Bunting Fellow in poetry at Harvard’s Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study.
The Frederick Bock Prize was founded in 1981 by friends in memory of the former associate editor of Poetry in the amount of $500. Past winners include Billy Collins (1992) and Jane Kenyon (1993), among others.

The J. Howard and Barbara M.J. Wood Prize
Randall Mann is recognized for his poems “Nothing,” “Order” and “Proprietary” in April 2013. Mann’s third book of poems, Straight Razor (Persea), is forthcoming in October 2013.  Endowed since 1994, the J. Howard and Barbara M.J. Wood Prize is for $5,000.

The John Frederick Nims Memorial Prize for Translation
Miller Oberman is honored for her translation of “Old English Rune Poem” by Anonymous in Julu/August 2013. Oberman is pursuing doctoral studies of poetry and poetics at the University of Connecticut. Her collection Useful was a finalist for the 2012 National Poetry Series.
Established in 1999 by Bonnie Larkin Nims, trustees of the Poetry Foundation, and friends of the late poet, translator, and editor, the John Frederick Nims Memorial Prize for Translation is in the amount of $500.

Prize winner Idra Novey

The Friends of Literature Prize
Idra Novey’s poems “The Visitor,” “La Prima Victoria” and “Of the Divine as Absence and Single Letter,” from November 2012, are recognized by the Friends of Literature Prize, established in 2002. Novey is the author of Exit, Civilian (Univ. of Georgia, 2012), a 2011 National Poetry Series Selection, and The Next Country (Alice James, 2008). The poet receives a prize of $500.

The Editors’ Prize for Feature Article

Winners Eliza Griswold and Seamus Murphy contributed Landays (a project collecting the oral folk poems of Pashtun women) to June 2013. Guggenheim fellow Griswold is the author of Wideawake Field (Farrar, 2007), as well as The Tenth Parallel: Dispatches from the Fault-line between Christianity and Islam (Farrar, 2010), which was awarded the Anthony J. Lukas Prize in nonfiction. Photographer and filmmaker Seamus Murphy began photographing Afghanistan in 1994 and published his book A Darkness Visible: Afghanistan (Saqi) in 2008. The Editors’ Prize for Feature Article was established in 2005; winners receive $1,000.

Prize winner Michael Robbins

The Editors’ Prize for Reviewing
Michael Robbins receives this year’s prize for his review of Postmodern American Poetry: A Norton Anthology from July/August. Robbins is the author of Alien vs. Predator (Penguin, 2012) and is writing a new work Equipment for Living (S. & S.). Established in 2004, the Editors’ Prize for Reviewing grants $1,000 to its winner.

The prizes are organized and administered by the Poetry Foundation in Chicago, publisher of Poetry magazine.


Annalisa Pesek About Annalisa Pesek

Annalisa Pesek (apesek@mediasourceinc.com) is Assistant Managing Editor, LJ Book Review
[photograph by John Sarsgard]