SF/Fantasy Newsworthy | March 15, 2013

The Horror Writers Association has announced its preliminary nominations for the 2012 Bram Stoker Awards.

Superior Achievement in a Novel: The Trouble with Hairy by Hal Bodner (Phantom Hollow); 14 by Peter Clines (Permuted Pr.);Bottled Abyss by Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Redrum Horror); NightWhere by John Everson (Samhain); Cemetery Club by J.G. Fahearty (JournalStone); Coronation by Lee F. Jordan (Black Rose Writing); The Drowning Girl by Caitlín R. Kiernan (ROC: NAL); The Haunted by Bentley Little (Signet: NAL); Inheritance by Joe McKinney (Evil Jester).

Superior Achievement in a First Novel: Charlotte Markham and the House of Darklings by Michael Boccacino (Morrow); Wide Open by Deborah Coates (Tor); The Legend of the Pumpkin Thief by Charles Day (Noble YA); A Requiem for Dead Flies by Peter Dudar (Nightscape); Bad Glass by Richard Gropp (Del Rey: Ballantine); Resurrection X: Zombie Evolution by Dane Hatchell (Post Mortem); The Sinner by K. Trap Jones (Blood Bound); Life Rage by L.L. Soares (Nightscape); City Under the Moon by Hugh Sterbakov (Ben and Derek Ink).

Superior Achievement in a YA Novel: The Hallowed Ones by Laura Bickle (Graphia); The Diviners by Libba Bray (Little, Brown); FreeK Show by Steve Burt (Burt Creations); Hooked: A True Faerie Tale by Michaelbrent Collings (self-published); I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga (Little, Brown); Flesh & Bone by Jonathan Maberry (S. & S.); I Kissed a Ghoul by Michael McCarty (Noble Romance); The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic); A Bad Day for Voodooby Jeff Strand (Sourcebooks); Break My Heart 1,000 Times by Daniel Waters (Hyperion); The Color of Evil by Connie Corcoran Wilson (Quad Cities).

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction: Thirty Miles South of Dry County by Kealan Patrick Burke (Delirium); The Cold Spot by J.G. Faherty (Delirium); Sunfall Manor by Peter Giglio (Nightscape); I’m Not Sam by Jack Ketchum & Lucky McKee (Sinister Grin); The Mourning House by Ronald Malfi (Delirium); Lost Girl of the Lake by Joe McKinney & Michael McCarty (Bad Moon); Delphine Dodd by S.P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum Media); The Blue Heronby Gene O’Neill (Dark Regions); The Fleshless Man by Norman Prentiss (Delirium); When We Join Jesus in Hell by Lee Thompson (DarkFuse).

The British Science Fiction Association has released its short list for the 2012 BSFA Awards:

Best Novel: Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus); Empty Space: A Haunting by M. John Harrison (Gollancz);Intrusion by Ken Macleod (Orbit); Jack Glass by Adam Roberts (Gollancz); 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit).

The nominees for the 2012 Philip K. Dick Award, which honors distinguished sf volumes published as original paperbacks in the United States, have also been released. Blueprints of the Afterlife by Ryan Boudinot (Black Cat: Grove); Harmony by Keith Brooke (Solaris); Helix Wars by Eric Brown (Solaris); The Not Yet by Moira Crone (UNO); Fountain of Age by Nancy Kress (Small Beer); Lovestar by Andri Snaer Magnason (Seven Stories); Lost Everything by Brian Frances Slattery (Tor).

The 2012 Philip K. Dick Award will be announced at Norwescon36 on March 29, 2013, in SeaTac, WA.

Thanks to locusmag.com/News/ for their timely information.