E-Originals from Davenport, March, Moraine, & Sjoberg | Xpress Reviews

gravevengeance013015

Football player fumbles at love, bachelor tycoon goes on tropical dates, gritty sf wrapped in Greek mythology makes a well-balanced romance, paranormal romance offers a creative spin on the Grim Reaper

E-Originals from Banks, Harper, Robson, & West | Xpress Reviews

onceloved012315

A new paranormal cliff-hanger from Daisy Banks, a follow-up to Harper’s Secrets and Ink, Robson’s family drama tugs at the heartstrings, West’s new adult tale isn’t especially compelling

Nonfiction on Walter Noble Burns, Lincoln, Classical Music, Mexico, China, Buddhism | Xpress Reviews

americanmythmaker012315

Wild West history, more Lincoln scholarship, a demystification of classical music, a memoir of moving to Mexico, China’s plans with regard to global domination, and a well-organized collection on Buddhism, with a noble cast of characters

Fiction from Lawson, O’Reilly, Rhoades, and Robb, plus a U.S. Debut | Xpress Reviews

killing season012315

Cross makes his U.S. debut with a harrowing thriller, a riveting historical mystery from Lawson, a disappointment from O’Reilly, Rhoades’s Keller is a fun character to root for, and Robb’s latest “In Death” title is highly recommended

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Audiobooks from Ebrahim, Huneven, Koontz, Lang, O’Neal, & Raybourn | Xpress Reviews

sixteenth012315

An emotional memoir, the compelling nature of obsessive love, a disconcerting mood and spooky atmosphere from Koontz, a family seeking connection, a sweet story without much substance, a romantic thriller set between the wars

Graphic Novels from Bagge, Barry, Casey & Co., and Dahl | Xpress Reviews

sweatshop011615

Bagge brings a tense, frantic-paced underground-comic style to the workplace, Barry will be appreciated most by her fans, and Dahl’s intriguing collection is for aficionados of Japanese culture

Nonfiction: Lincoln’s Dog, Burroughs’s Pix, War on Terror, Evolution, Human Rights, Math | Xpress Reviews

undeniable011615

How Burroughs’s wrote, truth behind national parks, war on terror reference, an exquisitely conceived book on women in charge, Bill Nye on life’s origins, a scholarly look at human rights law, and the Vatican, the CIA, and the Mafia

Audiobooks from Billingham, Box, Leon, Littlefield, McKinney, & Mones | Xpress Reviews

nightinshanghai010516

A terrific murder mystery from Billingham, some Pickett shorts from Box, more Brunetti from Leon, psychological character studies from Littlefield, McKinney’s latest fails to impress, an unconventional romance and a Chinese setting from Mones

Fiction from Brandt, Persson, & a Debut Thriller | Xpress Reviews

whites011615

Crackling dialog and a panoramic view of urban life from Price alter ego Harry Brandt, a good bet for Nordic crime fans from Persson, and Reardon’s well-written and fast-paced debut thriller

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin