Audiobooks from Johnson, Kane, and Weaver | Xpress Reviews

strangeryouknow031315

A dangerous, calamity-filled trip through areas of Africa, a psychological profiler is involved in two linked serial murder inquiries, a book recommended for patrons who enjoy mysteries, romance, British manners, and Henry James novels

Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

darkest hour030615

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews

fadeout030615

Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Nonfiction on Puffins, William Morris, Women of Science, Math, and Marie Curie | Xpress Reviews

anarchyandbeauty030615

Rescuing the endangered puffin, a fascinating, somewhat scholarly examination of William Morris, introducing headstrong women of science to a wider audience, a fresh take on Marie Curie

Fiction from Ashford, Goldreich, Hannaham, Herron, and Ryan, plus Three Debuts | Xpress Reviews

greenonblue030615

An illuminating debut from Ackerman, an absorbing romance from Ashford, historical fiction from Goldreich, an eye-opening standout from Hannaham, domestic fiction from Herron, art out of tragedy from Léger, a wild ride from Ryan

E-Originals from Michaels and Winters, with Debuts from Blake and Locke | Xpress Reviews

playingknotty030615

Blake’s debut is endearing and more than a little hot; Locke’s debut features an edgy plot; Michaels’s series conclusion might confuse new readers; Winters’s book is a rare mix of heartwarming romance and incredible sexual awakening

Audiobooks from Carter, Chamberlain, Day, Goodwin, Hilderbrand, Millard, & Steinhauer | Xpress Reviews

cairoaffair022715

Twisty fiction, a house with secrets, erotic Day, historical romance, a feel-good Christmas novel, Joni Mitchell, a predictable Regency romance, and an espionage novel with ex-lovers, military contractors, and other nefarious types

Nonfiction on Misfortune in History, Archiving, the U.S./Mexico Border, the Bible | Xpress Reviews

archives022715

A daily dose of entertainment on misfortune in history that may spark interests to be pursued elsewhere, anyone with responsibility for processing archival collections will value Santamaria’s book, a beginner’s guide to the Bible for Christians

Fiction by Asher, Joyce, and Karr, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

darkintelligence022715

A complex and satisfying sf work from Asher, a good mean girls debut, a somewhat darker and more detailed work from Joyce, and a rather plodding debut historical despite the accuracy and lavish descriptions

E-Originals from Anderson, Arden, and Usen, with a Debut plus One | Xpress Reviews

runninginterference022715

A double mystery in the Florida sun, a female football player tackles her love life, a self-published debut and its sequel feature well-crafted characters, and witty banter and tons of sexual chemistry make for a lighthearted treat