E-Originals from Alward, George, LeCoeur, Rock, and Zanetti | Xpress Reviews

This fairy-tale romance doesn’t require gratuitous sex scenes to capture readers’ heartstrings; the wide cast of characters and witty interplay make for a rollicking read; the mix of epistolary advice and raw romantic action is intoxicating; readers who gravitate toward second chance romances will be rewarded; Zanetti hits a home run with this one

Fiction from Clark, Montana Noir, Witt & Z, plus Debuts | Xpress Reviews

In her debut novel, Burns slowly uncovers an unsettling and grim world; Clark nimbly handles the warp and weft of her interwoven characters; reimagining Little Women; fans of noir and regional fiction will be intrigued; a beautiful, angst-filled, and heart-wrenching debut; Witt and Z pack suspense, action, and family ties into this series installment

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

E-Originals from Cangany, Morgan, Qualls, and Debuter Rhone | Xpress Reviews

Best for public libraries with patrons having a strong interest in IndyCar; fespite the fantasist aspects, this novel covers familiar ground; Qualls provides a sweet romance with some spice while tackling issues such as coming out as an adult and religious acceptance or denial of LGBTQ lifestyles; recommended for romance lovers who like a little humor and a lot of intrigue

Audiobooks by Attenberg, Dorries, Foster, Fujimura, Healey, Judson, Lescroart, McKinlay, & Patterson | Xpress Reviews

A disappointing effort from Attenberg; flat characters from Foster; Fujimura’s account is for large collections where interest warrants; Healey is for historical fiction and women’s fiction fans; the operation of the Habsburg Empire; Lescroart’s latest: a very good work by an accomplished author; an appealing series entry for cozy fans—cupcakes not included

Nonfiction: Golf & African Americans, Allergy-Free Cooking, Pro Wrestling, Marriage Counseling | Xpress Reviews

An unsettling but solid perspective on America and golf; for public libraries seeking diet and health-related cookbooks; the Flairs will please their base with accounts of action in and out of the ring; beneficial as part of a professional collection for counselors and others

Fiction from Denfeld, Hamer, Hannah, Simmons, and Debuter Reed | Xpress Reviews

Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy the work of authors such as Jane Hamilton and M.L. Stedman; reminiscent enough of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter to continue reading; a rare miss from Hannah; its biggest strength is its evocative depiction of the Windy City; the perfect read for a day at the beach

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor

E-Originals from Arden, Castillo, Chase, and Lane and Debuter Delacroix | Xpress Reviews

Sports romance novel lovers will truly enjoy this tale of a strong female who dominates in a male sport; the banter between Olivia and Cade is fun and flirty throughout; strong dose of steam and a nonromantic plot; fans of paranormal romance will be intrigued by the unique story line; fans of the series will enjoy this origin story

Nonfiction on Raising and Loving Mushing Dogs | Xpress Reviews

Stories of Goliath, Boo, Doc, Ghost, Coolwhip, Zoom, and others successfully bring readers into the mushing world, where they learn about the rewards and challenges of raising these dogs