Xpress Reviews

Web-first reviews of books and media, including e-original/e-exclusive titles.

Audiobooks from de Rosnay, Hayes, Hiaasen, & Hubbard | Xpress Reviews

untilyouremine103114

de Rosnay misses with The Other Story, Hayes is recommended for thriller collections, Hiaasen’s columns are a marginal purchase, Hubbard’s stories are uneven

Nonfiction on William Mortensen, Sportswriting, Gay Marriage, Cycling, & the Civil War | Xpress Reviews

underthisbeautifuldome103114

Forgotten Hollywood photographer William Mortensen, Malley on British sports, a sincere treatise on gay marriage, a quirky compendium for cycling enthusiasts, a picturesque volume on the Civil War that is a must for history buffs

Fiction from Littlewood, Roberts, & Tepper, plus a Debut | Xpress Reviews

bloodmagick103114

Grisly supernatural crime fiction, a roller-coast romantic debut, an engaging, romantic page-turner from Roberts, and a fascinating and frustrating postapocalyptic tale from Tepper

E-Originals from Brannagh, Feehan, McGinnis, Mac Nicol, & Munro | Xpress Reviews

holdingholly103114

Christmas and a holiday snowstorm, a blizzard and a psychic veterinarian, two veterinarians and a custody battle, an M/M romance that muddies the waters, a sweet and sexy romance that pushes the boundaries

Read Along with Lonely Planet’s Best Travel in 2015 | Xpress Reviews

lonelyplanet102414

Not a book to pack, Lonely Planet’s Best Travel 2015 might help readers choose a destination

Audiobooks from Chase, Finder, Hubbard, and McEwen & Koloniar| Xpress Reviews

suspicion102414

A dressmaker finds love, a suspenseful thriller for all collections, a solid Hubbard for lovers of war stories, a work for those who enjoy military thrillers

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

Fiction from Dunn, Hazelgrove, Horowitz, Maxwell, Pérez-Reverte, & St. Aubyn | Xpress Reviews

moriarty102414

Hazelgrove presents a happy Christmas story, Horowitz skillfully executes a literary thriller, Maxwell beautifully ends her Wishmore trilogy, Pérez-Reverte offers a city under siege, St. Aubyn artfully explores possibilities

E-Originals from Alexander, Allen, Loveless, Macnamara, & Robson | Xpress Reviews

dualityprinciple102414

A feel-good holiday romance, a good girl wants to be bad, a gay action star faces a midlife crisis, a sexually charge romance for historical fans, a dizzying array of paranormal characters for series fans

Nonfiction: America 1844, Dunham, Matisse, Geronimo, Dogs, Dietrich von Hildebrand | Xpress Reviews

notthatkindofgirl101714

Our country in 1844, learning from Dunham, Matisse’s sculpture and society, shamanism and Apache medical tradition, a sweetly told dog story (as told by the dog), a new voice on the record of German resistance

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin