Xpress Reviews

Web-first reviews of books and media, including e-original/e-exclusive titles.

Read Along with Lonely Planet’s Best Travel in 2015 | Xpress Reviews

lonelyplanet102414

Not a book to pack, Lonely Planet’s Best Travel 2015 might help readers choose a destination

Audiobooks from Chase, Finder, Hubbard, and McEwen & Koloniar| Xpress Reviews

suspicion102414

A dressmaker finds love, a suspenseful thriller for all collections, a solid Hubbard for lovers of war stories, a work for those who enjoy military thrillers

Graphic Novels: Watch out for Works by MariNaomi | Xpress Reviews

dragonsbreath102414

MariNaomi’s latest work is highly recommended for fans of Alison Bechdel or Craig Thompson

Fiction from Dunn, Hazelgrove, Horowitz, Maxwell, Pérez-Reverte, & St. Aubyn | Xpress Reviews

moriarty102414

Hazelgrove presents a happy Christmas story, Horowitz skillfully executes a literary thriller, Maxwell beautifully ends her Wishmore trilogy, Pérez-Reverte offers a city under siege, St. Aubyn artfully explores possibilities

E-Originals from Alexander, Allen, Loveless, Macnamara, & Robson | Xpress Reviews

dualityprinciple102414

A feel-good holiday romance, a good girl wants to be bad, a gay action star faces a midlife crisis, a sexually charge romance for historical fans, a dizzying array of paranormal characters for series fans

Nonfiction: America 1844, Dunham, Matisse, Geronimo, Dogs, Dietrich von Hildebrand | Xpress Reviews

notthatkindofgirl101714

Our country in 1844, learning from Dunham, Matisse’s sculpture and society, shamanism and Apache medical tradition, a sweetly told dog story (as told by the dog), a new voice on the record of German resistance

Audiobooks from Andrews, Barclay, Ewan, & Willig | Xpress Reviews

deadline101714

Urban fantasy from husband-and-wife team Andrews, a mess from Barclay, a mystery/thriller from Ewan, and a spy-filled historical romance from Willig

Fiction from Allen, Baldacci, McCall Smith, & Rodale, plus a Debut | Xpress Reviews

unseaming101714

Allen’s stories wring sadness and cause chills, the best Puller novel yet from Baldacci, a suspenseful debut from Belle, a welcome addition to McCall Smith’s “No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” series, Rodale closes her trilogy on a darker note

E-Originals from Madsen, Pace, Bennett, Cross, Hughes, & Selvig | Xpress Reviews

alex101714

Country music takes center stage in two romances, a hockey star gets benched by love, a woman discovers romance and chastity with a demon hunter, and a woman finds safety and love with a kindhearted Brit

Graphic Novelists Filiu & David B., Hubert & Kerascoet, Kindt & Others, and More | Xpress Reviews

justiceleague101014

A strong work on an extremely important bit of history, a delightfully French story that is unusual and unnerving, a book only for hard-core crime fans and sf fiends, and courageously bringing DC’s finest to the edge of despair

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin