Certain Women, David Lynch, Rebecca, the Vietnam War | Trailers: What’s Coming on DVD/Blu-ray

Certain Women in Montana; growing up David Lynch; Téa Leoni as Madame Secretary; Ken Burns documents The Vietnam War; Du Maurier’s 1940 novel, Rebecca; Sam Elliott was born to play The Hero

18th-Century Women | Fiction Reviews

Romance author Boyd’s first historical novel captivates on every level; Orange Prize winner Dunmore’s final novel (the author died in June) is a gripping psychological mystery set in a compellingly portrayed period of exhilaration and unrest

Cobra Art: An International Influence

With an exhaustive bibliography, Cobra: A History of a European Avant-Garde Movement is essential for curators and art historians. The more succinct but smart and informative Avant-garde Won’t Give Up is recommended both for arts professionals and general readers.

Reading Through Time | The Reader’s Shelf

There are many ways to travel in time once inside a book—from those set in the past or future to those that are not satisfied with just one temporal plane. These six books explore the many threads of time.

Martin Luther, Secularism, Ancient Christianity, Kahlil Gibran, Faith Journeys | Spirituality & Religion Reviews

Arjana provides a fascinating guide to a vibrant and dynamic tradition; an excellent entry point into Wright’s books on biblical theology; the power of Coles’s book is his honest battle with faith and identity politics; The Unreformed Martin Luther offers an entertaining read with a serious purpose for those interested in the early Protestant Reformation

South African Thrillers from Meyer and Debuter Steyn

Tense, intriguing, and surprising, Meyer’s thriller is a solid choice for readers who enjoy well-researched and detailed survival stories; Steyn’s Cape Town will be familiar to any city dweller who no longer knows their neighbors and hides behind barred windows

Domestic Suspense from Ellison, Finn, Frances, and Rouda

Fans of Paula Hawkins, A.S.A. Harrison, Mary Kubica, and Karin ­Slaughter will want to add Ellison to their summer reading list; Finn’s riveting and mature first novel stands out in a crowded genre; despite its flaws, Frances’s debut novel will appeal to fans of fast-paced psychological thrillers; Rouda’s latest is destined to fly off the shelves

Impressive Art: From Monet to Sisley

A great welcome back to Alfred Sisley, an exceptional, if sometimes neglected, impressionist painter; a quirky volume best suited to academic and museum libraries with deep collections on 19th-century Europe

Self-Help Guru Gretchen Rubin Tackles “The Four Tendencies”

In an interview with LJ, Gretchen Rubin expands on a concept developed in her earlier work about habits, Better Than Before: the idea that people fall into one of four categories based on how they respond to expectations.

Collection Development: Prostate Health & Wellness

Some 240,000 patients are diagnosed with prostate cancer in the United States each year, yet, there are very few evidenced-based titles on prostate health published annually. Here are 27 resources to help.