Fast Scans: Top Foreign & Indie Picks | Video Reviews, December 2016

for-the-love-of-spock

A survey of some of the top foreign & indie movies, brought to you by reviewer Jeff T. Dick, including For the Love of Spock, a touching tribute to Leonard Nimoy

Genetically Speaking | Science and Technology Reviews, December 2016

the-gene-machine

A hopeful, struggle-against-the-odds story that adopts the tone of a Hallmark made-for-TV movie; an intriguing and intimate book for anyone who has or will have children

Vic James’s Debut of the Month, Cogman, Gladstone, Lafferty, plus New Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews, December 2016

sixwakes-jpg121216

Readers will eagerly anticipate James’s next volume; clever dialog, time-hopping through fun locales, plenty of action, and hints of fresh plotting from Cogman; Scalzi readers will find these refreshingly concise tales delightful

Oust’s Debut of the Month, Barker, Kerr, Kingsbury, Lawrence, plus New Series Lineup | Mystery Reviews, December 2016

curriedaway-jpgthumb

Just the right ingredients of humor, mystery, and action; a ripped-from-the-headlines plot with a twist that adds a real kick; MacRae’s series debut will charm everyone who loves Scotland; Coleman is totally fun reading

Gingerbread Classics, Simple Fare, Art of Pie, Pho, Barbecue | Cooking Reviews, December 2016

gourmetkitchen-jpg113016

Essential for aspiring ­gingerbread architects; a blogger cookbook you’ll want to use right away; few pie cookbooks are as heartwarming and funny as McDermott’s; anyone new to hosting a dinner party can benefit from Monaghan’s tutelage

Women Composers, Part 3 | Music Matters, December 2016

fanfares-jpg113016

In this final installment of this three-part series exploring women composers, we’ll focus on women currently pushing the boundaries of music and ­composition

All Those Perfect Flaws | Romance Reviews, December 2016

troublewithdukes-thumb

Most interesting characters have their faults—you could even say it’s those flaws that make them perfect.

A Year in Books | The Reader’s Shelf, December 2016

christodora-jpgthumb

In keeping with this column’s end-of-the-year tradition of highlighting favorite titles, a number of readers’ advisors have surveyed their bookshelves and pulled novels they have deeply enjoyed.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale