Awoke Reading: Celebrating African American History Month | Wyatt’s World

mylife.jpgthumb

With the opening of the National Museum of African American History and Culture hosting record crowds, and a swath of important achievements by various artists and authors, Black History Month is particularly meaningful this year.

National Book Awards Challenge Political Climate with Literature, Celebration

National Book Award Fiction winner with wife Julie Barer

On Wednesday, November 16, following a presidential election that shook the literary community to its roots, the National Book Foundation came back fighting at an awards ceremony where endorsement of a broad view of social justice for America was evident from the moment host Larry Wilmore took the stage. Virtually every speaker expressed strong dismay […]

Graphic Novels from Darcy, Lewis & Co., Pedrosa, and Tommaso | Xpress Reviews

equinoxesTN

Darcy’s work is illogical and unsettling with a dash of surrealism; Lewis’s latest historical work is essential reading for tweens through adults; fans of modern European graphic novels will love Pedrosa’s insightful book; Tommaso has a stilted comic style

Long-Awaited Reading | Wyatt’s World

americanheiress.jpgthumb

The frenzy over J.K. Rowling et al.’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child continues to dominate book headlines. However, there are a number of other works out this month that give proof to the phrase “better late than never.”

Suggestions for February, African American History Month | Wyatt’s World

selectedlettersoflangston22015

Learn, honor, and remember: read the Selected Letters of Langston Hughes, Lewis’s March, the Randalls’ new cookbook, White House correspondent Ryans’s memoir, and debut novelist Solomon’s Disgruntled.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Five Suggestions for African American History Month | Wyatt’s World

secretofmagic022114

Als mashup, a case of attachment for Johnson, Congressman Lewis’s visual memoir, a wrenching immigrant experience, Ward’s crystalline prose.