Graphic Novels from Darcy, Lewis & Co., Pedrosa, and Tommaso | Xpress Reviews


Darcy’s work is illogical and unsettling with a dash of surrealism; Lewis’s latest historical work is essential reading for tweens through adults; fans of modern European graphic novels will love Pedrosa’s insightful book; Tommaso has a stilted comic style

Long-Awaited Reading | Wyatt’s World


The frenzy over J.K. Rowling et al.’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child continues to dominate book headlines. However, there are a number of other works out this month that give proof to the phrase “better late than never.”

Suggestions for February, African American History Month | Wyatt’s World


Learn, honor, and remember: read the Selected Letters of Langston Hughes, Lewis’s March, the Randalls’ new cookbook, White House correspondent Ryans’s memoir, and debut novelist Solomon’s Disgruntled.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews


The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Five Suggestions for African American History Month | Wyatt’s World


Als mashup, a case of attachment for Johnson, Congressman Lewis’s visual memoir, a wrenching immigrant experience, Ward’s crystalline prose.