RA Back Pocket: Genre Fiction | Wyatt’s World

It’s been a good year for genre fiction, with notable series continuing strong and new titles breaking through and captivating readers. Highlighting the work of key authors, these five sure bets will serve readers’ advisory librarians for a long time to come.

Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

Baby Drivers, Hippo Farms, Former Manhattans | What We’re Reading & Watching

Coast into the Labor Day weekend with romanticized cityscapes, superheroes and superheroines, mythical creatures, and reading outside our comfort zones.

Newcomer Honeywell, McClellan, North, Robinson, Scalzi, Skovron, plus Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews

THE ELEMENTS, whether a personal power or a force of nature, have been mainstays of sf/fantasy writing from the genre’s beginning. How humanity has dealt with these components can be either a bane or boon, focused on creation or destruction. This month’s titles highlight the strengths of such elements in both natural and magical ways.

A Contemporary Haunting and a Roving Monster-Bear | Books for Dudes

This month, Doug reviews crime fiction, a new edition of a trusted triathlon training book, and, in his words, “sf so undeniably imaginative it has reinvigorated my cold, dead heart.”

The Future of Crime: SF Thrillers | The Reader’s Shelf, November 15, 2015

At the intersection of “What If?” and “Whodunit?” are sf mysteries and thrillers. The following titles combine suspense and speculative fiction in surprising and innovative ways.

2014 Nebula Awards/ Take Our Sf Survey

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) announced the winners of the 2014 Nebula Awards, and an inquiring LJ wants to know about your sf/fantasy collections.

Out of This World Reading: Nebula Nominees 2014

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) recently announced their nominees for the 2014 Nebula Awards. Judging by the six nominees for Best Novel, 2014 was a outstanding year for original, provocative, and challenging fiction.

Brown’s Pick of the Month, VanderMeer, Walton, Plus Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews, November 15, 2014

This month brings plenty of offerings that scratch the action itch, from new military sf series from Odom and Resnick to the cutthroat politics and vicious conflicts in Brown’s Golden Son.

Science Fiction/Fantasy Reviews | February 15, 2014

Reviews of Anne Bishop’s Murder of Crows, Patricia Briggs’s Night Broken: A Mercy Thompson Novel, Mur Lafferty’s Ghost Train to New Orleans, Daniel Price’s The Flight of the Silvers, Jeff VanderMeer’s Wonderbook, Ben Aaronovitch’s Broken Homes, Chris Marie Green Only the Good Die Young, and a list of titles from the February 15 issue.