21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes

spidermen12915

In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Keatinge & del Duca, Williams & Coleby, and Zimmerman & Scott | Xpress Reviews

royals121914

A fully developed cast of well-rounded characters from Keatinge and del Duca; an informed, provocative alternate history from Williams and Coleby; and fascinating true-life tales of espionage, diplomacy, and high-tech aerospace innovation

Graphic Novels from Pak & Lee and Rabaté | Xpress Reviews

streetview111414

Batman and Superman in various incarnations battle it out; a gorgeous and engaging wordless play from Rabaté

Davis, Hubert & Kerascoet, McCloud, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

thesculptor103114

How To Be Happy is an elegant, sophisticated smorgasbord for lovers of literary comics, McCloud’s Scultpor is an outstanding achievement, extraordinarily moving and memorable.

Vicarious Voyages | Collection Development: Armchair Travel

ljx141101webcoldev1

An armchair voyage is a journey of exploration—a pilgrimage, a feast for the soul, and a way of satisfying curiosities. These 27 resources, including apps, will help users travel routes and set sail for adventures that won’t require security checks or encounter airport snafus.

Graphic Novels from Coe, Fiffe, Soule & Daniel, Vaughan & Co., Plus Jewish Comix | Xpress Reviews

supermanwonder100314

A solid coming-of-age memoir from Coe, stream of consciousness from Fiffe, an expressive anthology of comic adaptations of Jewish stories, the perfect super power couple, a tale for those who enjoy smart, accessible, and relevant

Graphic Novels from Davis, McKean, and Ostrander & Mandrake | Xpress Reviews

motherlessoven091914

A wonderfully told story of a boy coming of age and coming to terms, a superb print exhibition of McKean’s varied talents and styles, a confusing read for those unfamiliar with the first Martian Manhunter title

Betrayals, Bound Feet, Ghosts, and Rollergirls | What We’re Reading

Roller Girl

This week the School Library Journal/LJ staffers learn some things about spycraft, Chinese culture, roller derby doings, imperfect relationships, and growing up in 1970s Texas.

Aguirre-Sacasa/Francavilla, Anglo/Leach, Lanzac/Blain, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

miracleman091514

Afterlife with Archie casts off the typical Archie comic lightheartedness; Michael Moran once again becomes the super­powerful Miracleman; Masterful Marks for artists interested in doing biography comics.