The Return of Doctor Who: Titan Releases Two New Graphic Novels Series Fans Will Love


Titan Comics has published the first volumes in two new “Doctor Who” series: The Tenth Doctor: Revolutions of Terror and The Eleventh Doctor: After Life

Graphic Novels: Chambers & Culbard, Conner, MacLean, Miller & Janson, and Reed | Xpress Reviews


An adaptation of Chambers’s work, stick around for Harley Quinn, MacLean’s work is refreshing and unique, Batman enthusiasts will love his story in black and white, Ms. Marvel will keep die-hard fans happy

Graphic Novels from Johns & Frank & others and Wiebe & Sejic | Xpress Reviews


Frank’s clear and unobtrusive art complements the dynamic, straightforward Earth One universe plot; patrons who love Buffy the Vampire Slayer will surely enjoy the raucous and powerful Rat Queens

Graphic Novels from Gardner & Co.; Geary; Remender, Alixe, & Klein; and Samura | Xpress Reviews


The best overall collection of the Flash, fast-paced whodunit featuring silent film star Louise Brooks, a shift in the Captain America universe, and an essential volume for Blade of the Immortal fans

Graphic Novels by Edginton & Deas, with Austen, and Horrocks | Xpress Reviews


Forget Colin firth; here’s a new Pride and Prejudice for the modern reader; anyone with an interest in the history or creation of comics will find themselves enthralled by Sam Zabel and the Magic Pen

Springtime Skill & Power | Books for Dudes

Bones & All

All this month’s BFD featured authors are skillful and powerful in their own ways.

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews


Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews


Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes


In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews


The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter