Graphic Novels from Gardner & Co.; Geary; Remender, Alixe, & Klein; and Samura | Xpress Reviews

finalcurtain051515

The best overall collection of the Flash, fast-paced whodunit featuring silent film star Louise Brooks, a shift in the Captain America universe, and an essential volume for Blade of the Immortal fans

Graphic Novels by Edginton & Deas, with Austen, and Horrocks | Xpress Reviews

prideandprejudice041715

Forget Colin firth; here’s a new Pride and Prejudice for the modern reader; anyone with an interest in the history or creation of comics will find themselves enthralled by Sam Zabel and the Magic Pen

Springtime Skill & Power | Books for Dudes

Bones & All

All this month’s BFD featured authors are skillful and powerful in their own ways.

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews

fadeout030615

Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews

luluanew021315

Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes

spidermen12915

In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Keatinge & del Duca, Williams & Coleby, and Zimmerman & Scott | Xpress Reviews

royals121914

A fully developed cast of well-rounded characters from Keatinge and del Duca; an informed, provocative alternate history from Williams and Coleby; and fascinating true-life tales of espionage, diplomacy, and high-tech aerospace innovation

Graphic Novels from Pak & Lee and Rabaté | Xpress Reviews

streetview111414

Batman and Superman in various incarnations battle it out; a gorgeous and engaging wordless play from Rabaté

Davis, Hubert & Kerascoet, McCloud, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

thesculptor103114

How To Be Happy is an elegant, sophisticated smorgasbord for lovers of literary comics, McCloud’s Scultpor is an outstanding achievement, extraordinarily moving and memorable.