Graphic Novels by Edginton & Deas, with Austen, and Horrocks | Xpress Reviews

prideandprejudice041715

Forget Colin firth; here’s a new Pride and Prejudice for the modern reader; anyone with an interest in the history or creation of comics will find themselves enthralled by Sam Zabel and the Magic Pen

Springtime Skill & Power | Books for Dudes

Bones & All

All this month’s BFD featured authors are skillful and powerful in their own ways.

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews

fadeout030615

Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews

luluanew021315

Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes

spidermen12915

In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Keatinge & del Duca, Williams & Coleby, and Zimmerman & Scott | Xpress Reviews

royals121914

A fully developed cast of well-rounded characters from Keatinge and del Duca; an informed, provocative alternate history from Williams and Coleby; and fascinating true-life tales of espionage, diplomacy, and high-tech aerospace innovation

Graphic Novels from Pak & Lee and Rabaté | Xpress Reviews

streetview111414

Batman and Superman in various incarnations battle it out; a gorgeous and engaging wordless play from Rabaté

Davis, Hubert & Kerascoet, McCloud, & More | Graphic Novels Reviews

thesculptor103114

How To Be Happy is an elegant, sophisticated smorgasbord for lovers of literary comics, McCloud’s Scultpor is an outstanding achievement, extraordinarily moving and memorable.

Vicarious Voyages | Collection Development: Armchair Travel

ljx141101webcoldev1

An armchair voyage is a journey of exploration—a pilgrimage, a feast for the soul, and a way of satisfying curiosities. These 27 resources, including apps, will help users travel routes and set sail for adventures that won’t require security checks or encounter airport snafus.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin