Graphic Novels from Cates & Co. and Wertz | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for readers who enjoy epic fantasy in rural settings; for anyone who enjoys graphic nonfiction and biography and especially for those interested in New York City’s various buildings and types of architecture

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor

Graphic Novels from Kirsch; Larsson, Runberg, & Homs; and Various Faces of Horror | Xpress Reviews

A complex story told in a thoughtful, moving manner; a valuable addition, embodying the many strengths that make the format an exceptional medium for modern storytelling; the high level of beautiful and terrifying work ensures that readers will revel in these tales from the first through final page

Graphic Novels from Cloonan & Co., Lansdale and Glanzman, and Ledesma | Xpress Reviews

For anyone who appreciates whimsical melancholy and bright, energetic illustration; mature readers and fans of Django-style Westerns will relish this elaborate short story; not quite popular press but not quite academic

Graphic Novels from Davis & Kettner, Malet & Tardi, Moen & Nolan, and Quinn & Sharma | Xpress Reviews

A beautifully realized biographical comic that tackles a tough subject head-on; fans of detective thrillers and nonsuperhero comics will be impressed; Oh Joy Sex Toy consistently educates and titillates with playful, informative, and honest comics; this stand-alone volume will appeal to both teens and adults who enjoy soccer

Graphic Novels from Azzarello & Risso, Hennessey & McGowan, and Unferth & Haidle | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for anyone interested in fantasy-tinged mob thrillers who are not turned away by foul language or gore; an approachable introduction for those starting a deeper study of gaming; I, Parrot has the bones of a better story but not the meat

Graphic Novels from Paolo Bacilieri and Gareth Brookes | Xpress Reviews

Fun will appeal to those who enjoy crossword puzzles and those who appreciate the history of games using word associations; spooky and edgy, but well worth the read, this intriguing story sheds light on a potentially overlooked condition

Graphic Novels from Fisher & Co., King & Others, and the EC Archives | Xpress Reviews

The diversity of Fisher’s characters and the intermingling of absorbed personalities are well done; this top-notch movie adaptation is a gory nightmare fun house worth exploring again and again; the high artistic standard and compellingly literate noir tales by the industry’s finest

Graphic Novels by Grell and a Gaming-Themed Biography by Kushner and Shadmi | Xpress Reviews

A worthwhile title for fans of sf, action-adventure, and 1980s nostalgia; Kushner offers an affectionate tribute to the classic Dungeons & Dragons and its creator