Graphic Novels from Fawkes and on Mangasia | Xpress Reviews

Fawkes’s latest work is an overture of mythological imaginings that perfectly match the esoteric tale of performance and magic; an ideal bridge for college-age readers who wish to go from being simply consumers to knowledgeable fans

Graphic Novels from Gallaher & Ellis, Medina & Co., and Oppenheimer & Klein | Xpress Reviews

Combines Weird Western excitement with steampunk flourishes; a deeply felt and absolutely necessary story that humanizes characters too often relegated to statistics and headlines; as the field of psychology has become more humane, readers might be inspired to delve more deeply into areas of interest

Graphic Novels from Fumino, Harris & Morazzo, Kirkman & Others, and Lewis & Sherman | Xpress Reviews

This manga does an excellent job of fostering empathy; once there, it is hard to discern what is driving Snowfall‘s overall narrative; origin story of the most hated man of any zombie apocalypse; stark, dark, and intense

Graphic Novels from Breathed, Freibert, Mapa, Palmerino & Ciponte, and Debuter Whyte | Xpress Reviews

A fun, relevant series that accurately captures 21st-century America; for adventurous readers looking for something well off the beaten path; a solid historical recollection, with a smattering of personal narrative; YA and adult readers alike will find this work intriguing and informative; a charming blend of coming-of-age saga and fantasy worldbuilding

Graphic Novels from Czap, Durand, Lemire, and Wazem & Tirabosco | Xpress Reviews

A bold tour de force of illustrative, imaginative chutzpah; a chilling testament to Cold War propaganda from debuter Durand; a worthy selection for those interested in literary graphic fiction; a fine little stand-alone that is quiet, dignified, and strangely relaxing

Graphic Novels by Lust, Coste, GG, and Nybrandt & Mikkelsen | Xpress Reviews

A strong optional purchase for fans of the source material, Lust, or historical wartime fiction; a wonderful exploration of a tragic artist; it takes some reflection but a gem for readers willing to engage with it; Tibet’s struggle for independence and the people who continue to endure

Graphic Novel from Sophie Goldstein That Is Adult-Only | Xpress Reviews

Much to reflect on in this sexually visceral tour de force, filled with intense black-and-white imagery and exploring what it means to “civilize” people without first weighing the consequences

Graphic Novels from Cates & Co. and Wertz | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for readers who enjoy epic fantasy in rural settings; for anyone who enjoys graphic nonfiction and biography and especially for those interested in New York City’s various buildings and types of architecture

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow

Graphic Novels from Claveloux, Miller & Co., and Scott & Others | Xpress Reviews

This explicitly adult pop-art fantasia delivers emotional insight and imaginative visuals; Miller and company have brought their best work; this will still certainly satisfy those who want more of the short-lived Ninth Doctor