Fiction from Cook and Stratton, with Well-Written Debuts from Avdic and Heacock | Xpress Reviews

Fans of mysteries set in confined environments will tear through this dark thriller debut; Cook’s latest disappoints; a delicious summer treat with just enough sass, sex, and edible glitter; a heartwarming contemporary romance, with a woman of color as the main character

Fiction from Davis, Gregory, Lange, Olsen, and Solwitz, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

About another New York City residential landmark; Gregory’s perspective on late Tudor England’s turbulent history will delight fans; Hughes has richly imagined the life of a remarkable historical figure; Lange knows how to reel in his audience with plenty of misdirection; for fans of women’s fiction about couples, families, genealogy, and genetics; great for indulging “the suspension of disbelief” with a unique setting; expect to be taken to the brink more than once—highly recommended

Fiction from Ben Coes and Laurie R. King and a Slew of Debut Authors | Xpress Reviews

Coes’s series fans will want to get their hands on this new installment; Kennedy’s debut novel is perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lauren Groff, and Jojo Moyes; for fans of King’s Kate Martinelli series; Madrygin’s debut is powerful, eye-opening reading for everyone; a forthright study of a family seeking hope and finding something else; Tallent’s book is ultimately affirmative without the slightest sentimentality, and it’s remarkable; Williams has still crafted a complex and suspenseful tale

Things Are Not Always As They Seem: Bone-Chilling Thrillers

A gripping page turner, a satisfying mystery, and psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat; readers who love suspense, horror, and nail-biting-action have come to the right place

Walking with the Greats: 19th-Century Literature

Thought-provoking stories, poetry and interactions with some literary greats; readers that are interested in 19th-century literature and poetry will find more than what they are looking for in these two books

Fighting for Freedom: Abolition Fiction

Two novels with gripping stories and rich historical detail; readers interested in historical fiction and nail-biting adventures will find either one of these books a fascinating read

Fiction: Black, Cantero, Chase, Clayton, Drew, Huntley, Jewel, Leigh, McKay, and Williams | Xpress Reviews

Black spins a poetic and enthralling tale; highly recommended for fans of Scooby-Doo; shabby glamour and dark atmosphere make for an electric setting; for folks seeking a whip-smart erotic romance with nuance; an in-depth character study of a flawed man; resonating well among the current rash of psychological thrillers; with appeal to both the NA and YA markets; an eerie glow on the denizens of London’s criminal class; for those who enjoy unearthly tales grounded in historical events; the neatly tied-up conclusion is especially impressive

Fiction: Beattie, Brookmyre, Conroy, DePalo, the Hammers, James, MacColl, Moggach, Waters, More | Xpress Reviews

A medieval tale; Beattie’s welcome stories; Jack Parlabane races against the clock; Conroy’s impressive literary fiction; DePalo hits a lot of right notes; a solid Scandinavian noir; Holohan’s debut is elegantly written; Conroy is totally satisfying; MacColl’s historical fiction is a perfect fit; a darker Moggach; a heaping dose of scientific and historical intrigue; and overpowering pieces from Waters

Fiction from Boyett & Mitchroney, Ephron, Grant, Maron, and Oates | Xpress Reviews

Sf mixed with alternative history; a satisfyingly creepy read for fans of Southern gothic fiction; a very complex plotline seeks to tie up loose ends in Grant’s long-running series; Maron’s fans will enjoy this while wiping away tears of farewell; Oates’s short dark pieces are compelling

Fiction from Benford and Trigiani | Xpress Reviews

Benford’s title is recommended for an audience that enjoys alternate history with a solid grounding in reality; Trigiani’s truly pleasurable read will strike a chord with fans of Fannie Flagg