Fiction from Basham, Ellory, Gore, Grisham, Killoren, Manus, Raphael, Stasi, & Thomas | Xpress Reviews

A well-written love story filled with suspense, mystery, and a loving family; an excellent stand-alone noir novel; a compelling portrayal of a young woman’s struggles; Grisham’s 32nd novel; for readers of popular chick lit and those who enjoy foodie literature; Land has written an intense, insightful first novel; for fans of Boston noir; Raphael spins a satisfying detective story; Stasi’s thriller is fascinating and clever; for readers who Victorian crime fiction

Fiction from Chamberlain and Friedmann | Xpress Reviews

Secrets, intrigue, mystery, love, forgiveness, and drama—it’s all here. And it is riveting; readers won’t be able to put down this engrossing read until the final page

Fiction from Clark, Montana Noir, Witt & Z, plus Debuts | Xpress Reviews

In her debut novel, Burns slowly uncovers an unsettling and grim world; Clark nimbly handles the warp and weft of her interwoven characters; reimagining Little Women; fans of noir and regional fiction will be intrigued; a beautiful, angst-filled, and heart-wrenching debut; Witt and Z pack suspense, action, and family ties into this series installment

SELF-e Circs: The Top Ten Most Read Historical Titles in SELF-e Select

A Q&A with author Jane Davis, plus the top historical fiction novels being read through SELF-e Select, a subscription-based digital discovery platform that culls the best self-published submissions. To bring SELF-e to your library, visit the SELF-e website.

Fiction from Ben-David, Coben, Handler, McBride, and Debuter Swann | Xpress Reviews

Ben-David knows Mossad to its core; longtime readers will be lining up for Coben’s new stand-alone; a surprisingly subtle exploration of sexual ethics; Realism with a touch of magical realism; a moving coming-of-age story with a noir twist; Alderman is not recommended

Fiction: Acevedo, Billingsley, Carlino, Holahan, MacNeal, Nash, Rushdie, Shamsie, Slaughter, Tuck | Xpress Reviews

This fascinating piece of history should appeal widely; Barber weaves a twisty tale that will grip readers; Billingsley has written another engrossing page-turner; Carlino writes a bittersweet, funny story; Holahan gets better with each novel; a nod to W.E.B. Dubois’s essay “The Talented Tenth”; for someone looking for a new historical mystery; an enjoyable tale of finding oneself and starting afresh; Rushdie should garner even more readers with this cautionary tale; debut author Wolas’s work is breathtaking

Fiction from Cook and Stratton, with Well-Written Debuts from Avdic and Heacock | Xpress Reviews

Fans of mysteries set in confined environments will tear through this dark thriller debut; Cook’s latest disappoints; a delicious summer treat with just enough sass, sex, and edible glitter; a heartwarming contemporary romance, with a woman of color as the main character

Fiction from Davis, Gregory, Lange, Olsen, and Solwitz, plus Two Debuts | Xpress Reviews

About another New York City residential landmark; Gregory’s perspective on late Tudor England’s turbulent history will delight fans; Hughes has richly imagined the life of a remarkable historical figure; Lange knows how to reel in his audience with plenty of misdirection; for fans of women’s fiction about couples, families, genealogy, and genetics; great for indulging “the suspension of disbelief” with a unique setting; expect to be taken to the brink more than once—highly recommended

Fiction from Ben Coes and Laurie R. King and a Slew of Debut Authors | Xpress Reviews

Coes’s series fans will want to get their hands on this new installment; Kennedy’s debut novel is perfect for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lauren Groff, and Jojo Moyes; for fans of King’s Kate Martinelli series; Madrygin’s debut is powerful, eye-opening reading for everyone; a forthright study of a family seeking hope and finding something else; Tallent’s book is ultimately affirmative without the slightest sentimentality, and it’s remarkable; Williams has still crafted a complex and suspenseful tale

Things Are Not Always As They Seem: Bone-Chilling Thrillers

A gripping page turner, a satisfying mystery, and psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat; readers who love suspense, horror, and nail-biting-action have come to the right place