Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

Fonda Lee’s Epic Picks | BackTalk

Here are 12 fantasy novels and series inspired by cultures and eras that will take readers far from the Middle Ages.

Where Are You? | What We’re Reading

The Sound of Music Story

The LJ/School Library Journal/Junior Library Guild staffers share their book escapades and excursions

Bear, Gordon’s Debut of the Month, Schwab, Holiday Shopping, Series Lineup | SF/Fantasy Reviews, December 2014

In the world of mixing up genres and making something new, it would be hard to find a more striking example than the genre of steampunk. Gadgets and airships, plus corsets and high tea—irresistible!