Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

Picking Up Books | What We’re Reading (& Watching)

What a whirl the spring and summer has been for the “What We’re Reading & Watching” gang! We survived LJ’s annual Day of Dialog (DoD), BookExpo (formerly Book Expo America, or BEA for you acronym fans), and then a quick swoop into Chicago for the ALA Annual conference, June 22–27. Books ruled all over, and […]