Fiction from Bowen, Boyce, Downie, Eason, Khan, and More | Xpress Reviews

For readers who enjoy World War ll historical fiction and rural Italian culture; Sarah Alt continues to march to her own drum; the end of this debut is satisfying; Downie’s latest serves as a worthy stand-alone; this nonstop, white-knuckled thrill ride will please devotees of police procedurals; Khan’s series is well worth investigating; an absorbing story of love and loss with an astounding conclusion

LJ Talks to Joseph Cassara | Debut Spotlight

The great gift of Joseph Cassara’s debut novel, The House of Impossible Beauties is his describing so acutely a little-portrayed community—queer people of color—in luxurious, gorgeously inflected language embodying gracefully intercut portraits to illuminating effect.

Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

Fiction by Alexander, McGhee, and Silverberg, with a Trio of Debuts | Xpress Reviews

Alexander excels at conveying the flavor of Tsarist Russia; Levy provides plenty of detail for the history lover; for fans of realistic fiction about difficult family relationships; unputdownable once you get into it; an enthralling, surreal debut; an excellent choice for sf fans

First—And Foremost | Debut Novels

Fall 2017/winter 2018 bring the promise of fresh, new voices

Fiction: Acevedo, Billingsley, Carlino, Holahan, MacNeal, Nash, Rushdie, Shamsie, Slaughter, Tuck | Xpress Reviews

This fascinating piece of history should appeal widely; Barber weaves a twisty tale that will grip readers; Billingsley has written another engrossing page-turner; Carlino writes a bittersweet, funny story; Holahan gets better with each novel; a nod to W.E.B. Dubois’s essay “The Talented Tenth”; for someone looking for a new historical mystery; an enjoyable tale of finding oneself and starting afresh; Rushdie should garner even more readers with this cautionary tale; debut author Wolas’s work is breathtaking

A Portrait of the Artist: Laurel Davis Huber’s “The Velveteen Daughter” | Debut Spotlight

Following an impulse to investigate an often enjoyed writer/illustrator from her childhood, Laurel Davis Huber embarked on a ten-year adventure that resulted in a captivating debut novel, The Velveteen Daughter, which traces the life of Pamela Bianco, a young artist growing up in early 20th-century America.

Galaxy Quests | Genre Spotlight: SF/Fantasy

Debuts showcase diverse voices, epics reign, space operas blast off, and horror rises from the grave (again) in our annual sf/fantasy preview. Plus Kensington and Tor launch digital and podcasting sf imprints.

Fiction from Cook and Stratton, with Well-Written Debuts from Avdic and Heacock | Xpress Reviews

Fans of mysteries set in confined environments will tear through this dark thriller debut; Cook’s latest disappoints; a delicious summer treat with just enough sass, sex, and edible glitter; a heartwarming contemporary romance, with a woman of color as the main character

First Steps | Debut Novels

Summer fiction titles from first-timers bend the boundaries in this debut preview.