Researchers’ Advisory | Reference 2015 How-To

ljx141101refWebArt1

Librarians and library users have a variety of ­resources to turn to for their information needs: Internet search engines such as Google, common or institutional knowledge, the physical collection, and electronic databases. For public libraries, the term database describes a searchable collection of electronic records to which a library subscribes. It may also be used more generally to describe other electronic or Internet-based resources the library pays for, such as language learning or résumé-building sites. Access to and successful use of these resources is rarely intuitive and often frustrating for library patrons, who may be unaware of their existence until the moment of need.

New Database Releases 2014

New database releases.

Reference Backtalk: Digitizing Diesel (and Other Great Minds)

Jennifer Kemp of Springer discusses the Springer Book Archives.

Reference Backtalk: A Painful Topic Presents Tough Choices

Pat Carlin of ABC-CLIO discusses their Modern Genocide database.

Reference eReviews | Springer Book Archives | April 1, 2013

Review of the online database Springer Book Archives.

Reference eReviews | Modern Genocide | April 1, 2013

Review of the online database Modern Genocide: Understanding Causes and Consequences.

Reference: ereviews: Career Cruising 2.0 | March 15, 2013

Cheryl LaGuardia examines Career Cruising 2.0.

Reference: ereviews | March 1, 2013

A review of the digital African American Historical Serials Collection.

Reference eReviews | February 1, 2013

Queen Victoria

Reviews of the online databases Queen Victoria’s Journals and Career Transitions.

Reference: ereviews | January 2013

Reviews of The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs and Defining Gender databases.

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin