Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

darkest hour030615

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

Audiobooks from Adler-Olsen, Doiron, Douglas, & Sloan | Xpress Reviews

quake022015

For Scandinavian crime fiction fans, mystery fans will dig The Bone Orchard, highly recommended especially for those located in the Big Apple, erotica with reservations, thriller fans get to revisit a 1980s TV series

Ilsa J. Bick, Sarah J. Maas, & Chuck Wendig | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Young Adult

51gIS7giE-L

Albertalli, Becky. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Blackstone. ISBN 9781504615129. Reader TBA. Gr 9 & Up—In this debut novel, an email falls into the wrong hands, and 16-year-old Simon Spier’s secret—he’s gay— is at risk of being exposed. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s […]

Historical fiction from Berg, Ferrante, Freeman, Nesbø, & Smiley | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Stephanie’s Picks

91xXZ5qDdML

Berg, Elizabeth. The Dream Lover. Brilliance Audio. ISBN 9781593557775. Read by Emily Sutton-Smith. Berg (Tapestry of Fortunes) reimagines the scandalous life of French novelist George Sand, her famous lovers, bestselling novels, and life in Paris during the 1830s and 40s. After leaving her estranged husband, Sand moved to Paris where she wrote, wore men’s clothing, smoked cigars, and […]

EllRay Jakes, Clementine, & My Weird School | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Early Elementary

9780803740884_zoom

Gutman, Dan. Mrs. Yonkers Is Bonkers! (My Weird School, Bk. 18). Recorded Bks. ISBN 9781490629513. Read by Jared Goldsmith. Gr 1-5—In the latest “My Weird School” installment, Mrs. Yonkers, the computer teacher, is the nerdiest teacher in the history of the world. She can type with her feet! She even puts a webcam on a turtle! What’s […]

Comedian Gaffigan on Food, Homer’s Poems, Millet’s Real-Life Mermaids | Audiobook Reviews, February 1, 2015

food2215

Gaffigan’s narration is perfectly timed and brings his book to life; Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey, read by Dan Stevens, are among the best audiobooks of the year; Cassandra Campbell’s deft voicing elevates from good to sublime.

Audiobooks by Cussler, Hamilton, Higgins, McCullough, Matthiessen, & Stone | Xpress Reviews

bittersweet013015

Another highly recommended Cussler, more Merry Gentry from Hamilton, an intriguing Irish setting from Higgins, politics Down Under from McCullough, a Holocaust medication from Matthiessen, a father’s quest for justice from Stone

Audiobooks from Ebrahim, Huneven, Koontz, Lang, O’Neal, & Raybourn | Xpress Reviews

sixteenth012315

An emotional memoir, the compelling nature of obsessive love, a disconcerting mood and spooky atmosphere from Koontz, a family seeking connection, a sweet story without much substance, a romantic thriller set between the wars

Audiobooks from Billingham, Box, Leon, Littlefield, McKinney, & Mones | Xpress Reviews

nightinshanghai010516

A terrific murder mystery from Billingham, some Pickett shorts from Box, more Brunetti from Leon, psychological character studies from Littlefield, McKinney’s latest fails to impress, an unconventional romance and a Chinese setting from Mones

Audiobooks from Armstrong, Grecian, Koontz, Parks, Quinn, & Williams, plus John & Yoko | Xpress Reviews

pawandorder010915

Armstrong’s fans will enjoy, Jack the Ripper returns via Grecian, a stand-alone from Koontz, a pair flirting with destiny, interviews with John Lennon and Yoko Ono, a solid twist from Williams