Audiobooks

For all the latest LJ reviews and more, visit Book Verdict! Book Verdict is fully accessible to all users, though certain content and functionality are only available to subscribers. If you're already an LJ subscriber, log in to your account. To view all subscription options, Get Started With Book Verdict Pro Today.

Audiobooks from Cohen, Higashino, and Sandford | Xpress Reviews

fieldofprey032015

For the memoir and Jewish identity collections of all libraries, Higashino is Highly recommended for mystery lovers, the adrenaline is almost tangible in Sandford’s latest

Delightful debuts | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Stephanie’s Picks

51FcXXQO81L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Frankel, Lauren. Hyacinth Girls. Brilliance. ISBN 9781501221941. Read by Emily Sutton-Smith & Laura Hamilton. While 13-year-old Callie is eventually exonerated of bullying, threatening notes from her alleged victim, Robyn, begin to surface. As the notes become suicidal, Callie’s mother, Rebecca, is determined to save the unbalanced Robyn. As Rebecca navigates school disapproval and mean moms while trying […]

A Tiny Valkyrie, a Snail on the Go, & Frida Kahlo | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Early Elementary

51a2fUDvQGL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Auerbach, Adam. Edda: A Little Valkyrie’s First Day of School. Dreamscape. ISBN 9781681410456. Reader TBA. PreS-Gr 2—Edda is a Valkyrie (an ancient Norse goddess who guides and protects heroes). She lives in a magical land called Asgard where she has everything she wants. Well…almost everything. Edda wants to find a friend her own age. Her […]

Nuclear Fallout, a Family Circus, & a (Somewhat) Brave Shrew | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Middle Grade

51Vm5QzeufL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Atkinson, Rick. Battle of the Bulge. Macmillan Audio. ISBN 9781427261359. Read by Jason Culp. Gr 3-7—Adapted for younger listeners from his bestselling The Guns at Last Light, this is Atkinson’s exploration of the Battle of the Bulge. On December 16, 1944, in the frozen forests of the Ardennes, the German army attacked American Allied forces, making […]

Stonewall, Doomed Love, & a World Without Trees | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Young Adult

51NvDvZieSL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Abedi, C.J. The Dark King. (Fae Trilogy, Bk. 2). Brilliance. ISBN 9781491504154. Read by Emily Durante & Mikael Naramore. Gr 9 Up—Devilyn Reilly has crossed over to the sinister world oft he dark fae, reigning over the realm as its king. He is to fulfill a prophecy—to unite the light and dark fae for good, but those […]

Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

darkest hour030615

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

Audiobooks from Adler-Olsen, Doiron, Douglas, & Sloan | Xpress Reviews

quake022015

For Scandinavian crime fiction fans, mystery fans will dig The Bone Orchard, highly recommended especially for those located in the Big Apple, erotica with reservations, thriller fans get to revisit a 1980s TV series

Ilsa J. Bick, Sarah J. Maas, & Chuck Wendig | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Young Adult

51gIS7giE-L

Albertalli, Becky. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Blackstone. ISBN 9781504615129. Reader TBA. Gr 9 & Up—In this debut novel, an email falls into the wrong hands, and 16-year-old Simon Spier’s secret—he’s gay— is at risk of being exposed. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s […]

Historical fiction from Berg, Ferrante, Freeman, Nesbø, & Smiley | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Stephanie’s Picks

91xXZ5qDdML

Berg, Elizabeth. The Dream Lover. Brilliance Audio. ISBN 9781593557775. Read by Emily Sutton-Smith. Berg (Tapestry of Fortunes) reimagines the scandalous life of French novelist George Sand, her famous lovers, bestselling novels, and life in Paris during the 1830s and 40s. After leaving her estranged husband, Sand moved to Paris where she wrote, wore men’s clothing, smoked cigars, and […]

EllRay Jakes, Clementine, & My Weird School | Audio in Advance Apr. 2015 | Early Elementary

9780803740884_zoom

Gutman, Dan. Mrs. Yonkers Is Bonkers! (My Weird School, Bk. 18). Recorded Bks. ISBN 9781490629513. Read by Jared Goldsmith. Gr 1-5—In the latest “My Weird School” installment, Mrs. Yonkers, the computer teacher, is the nerdiest teacher in the history of the world. She can type with her feet! She even puts a webcam on a turtle! What’s […]

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin