APA launches Sound Learning site

a2ef438b.infographic-screenshot

This Audio Publishers Association’s new Sound Learning website provides librarians and teachers with the resources they need to integrate audiobooks into their learning programs. Sections on the website include information about teaching literacy with audiobooks, testimonials from students, resources for public libraries on increasing circulation, and collection development suggestions organized by age range.

ALSC announces 2015 Notable Children’s Recordings

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has selected its 2015 list of Notable Children’s Recordings. The list includes recordings for children 14 years of age and younger of especially commendable quality that demonstrate respect for young people’s intelligence and imagination, exhibit venturesome creativity, and reflect […]

Pop Alternatives | Music Matters, March 1, 2015

whataterriblebeautifulworld31015

For popular artists, titles, and genres, I like to keep mental lists of alternatives that are more likely to be on the shelf, such as these suggestions for ten of today’s most popular artists.

Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

darkest hour030615

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

Downton Abbey, Music and Sports Histories, Vietnam in Pictures, plus New Trailers | Video Reviews, March 1, 2015

lastplayatshea3315

The times are definitely changing—Downton has even acquired a wireless! The intertwined histories of rocker Billy Joel, the New York Mets, and Shea Stadium; the history of beloved smoked-fish emporium Russ & Daughters.

Follett’s Trilogy Conclusion, Huston’s Hollywood, a Literary Lovett | Audiobook Reviews, March 1, 2015

firstimpressions3315

Follett’s characters are an all-too-human blend of youthful idealism and self-indulgence; listeners are catapulted into Huston’s star-studded world; Austen lovers, mystery fans, and romance buffs will thoroughly enjoy Lovett’s love story.

Michele Cobb named APA executive director

11717_417417

Michele Cobb has been named executive director of the Audio Publishers Association following her tenure as the organization’s president. Executive director is a new position that was formerly part of an outside management company.  Cobb owns MLC Consulting, which provides PR, sales, marketing, and business development services for the publishing industry, and is a frequent speaker at audiobook […]

Audiobooks from Carter, Chamberlain, Day, Goodwin, Hilderbrand, Millard, & Steinhauer | Xpress Reviews

cairoaffair022715

Twisty fiction, a house with secrets, erotic Day, historical romance, a feel-good Christmas novel, Joni Mitchell, a predictable Regency romance, and an espionage novel with ex-lovers, military contractors, and other nefarious types

Audiobooks from Adler-Olsen, Doiron, Douglas, & Sloan | Xpress Reviews

quake022015

For Scandinavian crime fiction fans, mystery fans will dig The Bone Orchard, highly recommended especially for those located in the Big Apple, erotica with reservations, thriller fans get to revisit a 1980s TV series

Oscar Nominee Boyhood, Broadway Performances, James Thurber, Fast Scans | Video Reviews, February 15, 2015

boyhood221815

Boyhood is a unique coming-of-age story; talented giants of the American stage; the essence of James Thurber; a vivid portrait of master art forger Mark Landis; the life of computer prodigy Aaron Swartz

Featuring YD Feedwordpress Content Filter Plugin