A Tiny Valkyrie, a Snail on the Go, & Frida Kahlo | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Early Elementary

51a2fUDvQGL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Auerbach, Adam. Edda: A Little Valkyrie’s First Day of School. Dreamscape. ISBN 9781681410456. Reader TBA. PreS-Gr 2—Edda is a Valkyrie (an ancient Norse goddess who guides and protects heroes). She lives in a magical land called Asgard where she has everything she wants. Well…almost everything. Edda wants to find a friend her own age. Her […]

Nuclear Fallout, a Family Circus, & a (Somewhat) Brave Shrew | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Middle Grade

51Vm5QzeufL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Atkinson, Rick. Battle of the Bulge. Macmillan Audio. ISBN 9781427261359. Read by Jason Culp. Gr 3-7—Adapted for younger listeners from his bestselling The Guns at Last Light, this is Atkinson’s exploration of the Battle of the Bulge. On December 16, 1944, in the frozen forests of the Ardennes, the German army attacked American Allied forces, making […]

Stonewall, Doomed Love, & a World Without Trees | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Young Adult

51NvDvZieSL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Abedi, C.J. The Dark King. (Fae Trilogy, Bk. 2). Brilliance. ISBN 9781491504154. Read by Emily Durante & Mikael Naramore. Gr 9 Up—Devilyn Reilly has crossed over to the sinister world oft he dark fae, reigning over the realm as its king. He is to fulfill a prophecy—to unite the light and dark fae for good, but those […]

Willie Nelson, Lucid Dreaming, & Peyton Place | May 2015 Audio in Advance | Nonfiction

9780679644422

Bays, Jan Chozen. How to Train a Wild Elephant & Other Adventures in Mindfulness: Simple Daily Mindfulness Practices for Living Life More Fully & Joyfully. Brilliance. ISBN 9781501227424. Read by the author. A growing body of research is showing that mindfulness can reduce stress, improve physical health, and improve one’s overall quality of life. Bays, […]

Audiobooks from Johnson, Kane, and Weaver | Xpress Reviews

strangeryouknow031315

A dangerous, calamity-filled trip through areas of Africa, a psychological profiler is involved in two linked serial murder inquiries, a book recommended for patrons who enjoy mysteries, romance, British manners, and Henry James novels

APA launches Sound Learning site

a2ef438b.infographic-screenshot

This Audio Publishers Association’s new Sound Learning website provides librarians and teachers with the resources they need to integrate audiobooks into their learning programs. Sections on the website include information about teaching literacy with audiobooks, testimonials from students, resources for public libraries on increasing circulation, and collection development suggestions organized by age range.

ALSC announces 2015 Notable Children’s Recordings

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has selected its 2015 list of Notable Children’s Recordings. The list includes recordings for children 14 years of age and younger of especially commendable quality that demonstrate respect for young people’s intelligence and imagination, exhibit venturesome creativity, and reflect […]

Audiobooks from Couch, Haddam, Larimore, & Debut Author Schumacher | Xpress Reviews

darkest hour030615

A double dose of Couch, one with Galdorisi, for action aficionados; Haddam writes for fans of Philadelphia; Larimore’s title is a poignant window to Eastern frontier life; Schumacher shows a real talent and seems to have a very bright future

Follett’s Trilogy Conclusion, Huston’s Hollywood, a Literary Lovett | Audiobook Reviews, March 1, 2015

firstimpressions3315

Follett’s characters are an all-too-human blend of youthful idealism and self-indulgence; listeners are catapulted into Huston’s star-studded world; Austen lovers, mystery fans, and romance buffs will thoroughly enjoy Lovett’s love story.

Michele Cobb named APA executive director

11717_417417

Michele Cobb has been named executive director of the Audio Publishers Association following her tenure as the organization’s president. Executive director is a new position that was formerly part of an outside management company.  Cobb owns MLC Consulting, which provides PR, sales, marketing, and business development services for the publishing industry, and is a frequent speaker at audiobook […]