SELF-e Circs: The Top Ten Most Read Historical Titles in SELF-e Select

A Q&A with author Jane Davis, plus the top historical fiction novels being read through SELF-e Select, a subscription-based digital discovery platform that culls the best self-published submissions. To bring SELF-e to your library, visit the SELF-e website.

Certain Women, David Lynch, Rebecca, the Vietnam War | Trailers: What’s Coming on DVD/Blu-ray

Certain Women in Montana; growing up David Lynch; Téa Leoni as Madame Secretary; Ken Burns documents The Vietnam War; Du Maurier’s 1940 novel, Rebecca; Sam Elliott was born to play The Hero

18th-Century Women | Fiction Reviews

Romance author Boyd’s first historical novel captivates on every level; Orange Prize winner Dunmore’s final novel (the author died in June) is a gripping psychological mystery set in a compellingly portrayed period of exhilaration and unrest

Cobra Art: An International Influence

With an exhaustive bibliography, Cobra: A History of a European Avant-Garde Movement is essential for curators and art historians. The more succinct but smart and informative Avant-garde Won’t Give Up is recommended both for arts professionals and general readers.

Reading Through Time | The Reader’s Shelf

There are many ways to travel in time once inside a book—from those set in the past or future to those that are not satisfied with just one temporal plane. These six books explore the many threads of time.

Ann Hood’s Morningstar: Growing Up with Books | LibraryReads Author Spotlight

Following The Book That Matters Most, fiction about a reading group whose members each present the book that most shaped or sustained their lives, Ann Hood’s Morningstar: Growing Up with Books seems like the perfect nonfiction complement.

Martin Luther, Secularism, Ancient Christianity, Kahlil Gibran, Faith Journeys | Spirituality & Religion Reviews

Arjana provides a fascinating guide to a vibrant and dynamic tradition; an excellent entry point into Wright’s books on biblical theology; the power of Coles’s book is his honest battle with faith and identity politics; The Unreformed Martin Luther offers an entertaining read with a serious purpose for those interested in the early Protestant Reformation

South African Thrillers from Meyer and Debuter Steyn

Tense, intriguing, and surprising, Meyer’s thriller is a solid choice for readers who enjoy well-researched and detailed survival stories; Steyn’s Cape Town will be familiar to any city dweller who no longer knows their neighbors and hides behind barred windows

Domestic Suspense from Ellison, Finn, Frances, and Rouda

Fans of Paula Hawkins, A.S.A. Harrison, Mary Kubica, and Karin ­Slaughter will want to add Ellison to their summer reading list; Finn’s riveting and mature first novel stands out in a crowded genre; despite its flaws, Frances’s debut novel will appeal to fans of fast-paced psychological thrillers; Rouda’s latest is destined to fly off the shelves

Impressive Art: From Monet to Sisley

A great welcome back to Alfred Sisley, an exceptional, if sometimes neglected, impressionist painter; a quirky volume best suited to academic and museum libraries with deep collections on 19th-century Europe