Gingerbread Classics, Simple Fare, Art of Pie, Pho, Barbecue | Cooking Reviews, December 2016

gourmetkitchen-jpg113016

Essential for aspiring ­gingerbread architects; a blogger cookbook you’ll want to use right away; few pie cookbooks are as heartwarming and funny as McDermott’s; anyone new to hosting a dinner party can benefit from Monaghan’s tutelage

Women Composers, Part 3 | Music Matters, December 2016

fanfares-jpg113016

In this final installment of this three-part series exploring women composers, we’ll focus on women currently pushing the boundaries of music and ­composition

Altmetrics, Tech-Buying Strategies, Digital Collections, Funding Sources | Pro Media Reviews, November 15, 2016

buyingstrategies-jpgthumb

A smart, reader-friendly primer on alternative research metrics; a crucial text for libraries planning a technology upgrade; detailed plans for digitization projects; a solid how-to for anyone involved in library and nonprofit fundraising

SAGE Video | Reference eReviews, November 15, 2016

sagevideo-jpgfinal

Libraries that support online curriculum development or serve faculty that engage in online content sharing and classroom support may find the addition of the SAGE Video platform to be of special value

All in Good Time | The Reader’s Shelf, November 15, 2016

patience-jpg112916

Just as Ursula K. Le Guin once said, authors help readers sail the river of time. The boarding pass for a story can take one deep into history, far into the future, or allow bibliophiles to bounce back and forth.

All Those Perfect Flaws | Romance Reviews, December 2016

troublewithdukes-thumb

Most interesting characters have their faults—you could even say it’s those flaws that make them perfect.

A Year in Books | The Reader’s Shelf, December 2016

christodora-jpgthumb

In keeping with this column’s end-of-the-year tradition of highlighting favorite titles, a number of readers’ advisors have surveyed their bookshelves and pulled novels they have deeply enjoyed.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale

Topping the Charts | Arts & Humanities Reviews, December 2016

nonrequiredreading-jpgthumb

If one were to buy only one book of Best American Essays, this might be it; this exceptional collection shines for the quality of the selections and the insight of the students of the nonprofit 826 National