Sister Fiction | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016


Kelly writes of heartwarming, character-driven siblings; the joy of Lamb’s intricate story is following her characters to a gloriously happy ending; Noel’s second book is emotionally charged, perfect for fans of Emily Liebert and Emily Giffin

Second Wives | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016


Jefferies’s atmospheric and suspenseful novel will enthrall fans of gothic romances; Rivers’s solid historical novel is a good choice for book clubs and will yield great discussions

Books of Oz, Movies, Marketing, & More | What We’re Reading


The intrepid WWR team circles the globe and/or adjusts the armchair this week.

Diversity Trumps Puppies | Hugo Awards 2016


Despite the best efforts of the anti-diversity Sad Puppies/Rabid Puppies groups to game the Hugos by flooding the ballot system with their own nominations, female authors swept the major fiction awards.

Editors’ Fall Picks 2016


43 new books of interest on LJ editors’ radars this fall

On & off the Record | What We’re Reading


Two debut novels, a true crime thriller, father-son comparisons, and fashion week in NYC.

Imagined Multiverses | Genre Spotlight: SF/Fantasy


Rather than base their work on the world as it is, speculative fiction authors are free to imagine any sort of society in our future.

Gridiron Legacies: This Season’s Football Picks


The latest football titles reflect a little of everything from the gridiron: iconic quarterbacks such as Brett Favre and Peyton Manning, NFL racial pioneers, great teams such as the 1986 Giants, and terrible teams such as the 1976 Bucs.

A Thriller with Heart: John Hart’s “Redemption Road”


Perennially on the New York Times best sellers list and the only author to have won Edgars for two consecutive titles, Down River and The Last Child, John Hart returns this year with the already hailed Redemption Road.

Q&A: Rumaan Alam | Debut Spotlight, August 2016


Alam’s first novel, Rich and Pretty, tells the compelling, multifaceted story of two women in their 30s who have been best friends since junior high school. Here, he discusses these distinct protagonists and how he was able to portray the intricacies of female ­friendships as a male author.