Bouchercon Winners | Anthony, Barry, Macavity Awards 2016

51aw7e08xxl1

Edgar Award winner Lou Berney hit the awards trifecta at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in New Orleans when his third novel, The Long and Faraway Gone, garnered the Anthony and Barry Awards for Best Paperback Original and earned the Macavity Award for Best Mystery Novel.

lj140_post_banner

Self-Made Success | Designing the Future

author_dewees_color

Sea of Secrets author Amanda DeWees, featured on LJ’s SELF-e Select self-publishing platform, and hybrid author Rachael Herron (“Darling Bay” and “Cypress Hollow” series) chat about their paths to self-publishing and the future of the industry.

Altes/Fishs, Beaumont, Clowes, Cornell/Parker, Girard, Jackson, Schulz | Graphic Novels Reviews, September 15, 2016

patience-jpg91516

Altes’s inventive dialog effectively juxtaposes outrageousness with hyperacademic geekery; Jackson will get readers thinking about causes and effects of our actions; Shaw will resonate with readers interested in the pop culture fan world

Love, Loss, & What We Read | What We’re Reading

redefiningrealness-mock

Some books to ease the pain of loss this week.

Forever Fascinated by Family | Memoir

slouka-nobodysson

Families continue to fascinate memoir writers, readers, and reviewers.

Eternal Reads | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016

ghostland-jpgthumb

Sophisticated readers with gothic sensibilities will find Ghostland a worthy title; A Season of the Witch will make readers want to visit Salem; this collection explores humanity’s enduring fascination with the supernatural

Sister Fiction | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016

languageofsisters-jpgthumb

Kelly writes of heartwarming, character-driven siblings; the joy of Lamb’s intricate story is following her characters to a gloriously happy ending; Noel’s second book is emotionally charged, perfect for fans of Emily Liebert and Emily Giffin

Second Wives | LJ Reviews, September 1, 2016

teaplanterTN

Jefferies’s atmospheric and suspenseful novel will enthrall fans of gothic romances; Rivers’s solid historical novel is a good choice for book clubs and will yield great discussions

Books of Oz, Movies, Marketing, & More | What We’re Reading

undergroundrr.whitehead

The intrepid WWR team circles the globe and/or adjusts the armchair this week.

Diversity Trumps Puppies | Hugo Awards 2016

2016[1]

Despite the best efforts of the anti-diversity Sad Puppies/Rabid Puppies groups to game the Hugos by flooding the ballot system with their own nominations, female authors swept the major fiction awards.