Audiobooks by Durham, Grant, Grossman, Haskell, Kelly, Mackintosh, Moran, Palm, and Szabó | Xpress Reviews

For those interested in World War II and German life; highly recommended for the foreign and Jewish-themed collections; this will certainly interest film enthusiasts; an awkward kid–turned–polished swan, Kelly handles narration duties as if to the microphone born; highly recommended for all mystery collections; every global citizen with an interest in superb literary fiction will want to open this intriguing Door

Graphic Novels from Cloonan & Co., Lansdale and Glanzman, and Ledesma | Xpress Reviews

For anyone who appreciates whimsical melancholy and bright, energetic illustration; mature readers and fans of Django-style Westerns will relish this elaborate short story; not quite popular press but not quite academic

Nonfiction: Animal Behavior, Gwendolyn Brooks, Physics, Flies, Space Station, the American West | Xpress Reviews

For law students studying the constitutional sector; animal lovers, students of zoology, and photography fans; will also appeal to general readers who enjoy Brooks’s poetry; the science hidden beneath the surface of their lives; those intrigued by entomology and zoology; Excellent for STEM education and lots of other disciplines; Reid’s original voice is sure to capture all readers interested in the West; Weber brings new insights on the life and work of a cultural dynamo

Fiction: Acevedo, Billingsley, Carlino, Holahan, MacNeal, Nash, Rushdie, Shamsie, Slaughter, Tuck | Xpress Reviews

This fascinating piece of history should appeal widely; Barber weaves a twisty tale that will grip readers; Billingsley has written another engrossing page-turner; Carlino writes a bittersweet, funny story; Holahan gets better with each novel; a nod to W.E.B. Dubois’s essay “The Talented Tenth”; for someone looking for a new historical mystery; an enjoyable tale of finding oneself and starting afresh; Rushdie should garner even more readers with this cautionary tale; debut author Wolas’s work is breathtaking

E-Originals from Ashenden, Galen, Holt, and Reyne | Xpress Reviews

Readers who enjoy quick, steamy, sexy books should like this one; Galen keeps the suspense high and outcomes in doubt in this gritty romance; don’t miss this first installment in Holt’s new series; readers looking for M/M titles that focus on an FBI partnership as well as a central love affair will be rewarded with delicious, angst-filled energy

A Special Day for Librarians | RWA 2017

A highlight of the annual Romance Writers of America (RWA) conference is Librarians Day, held this year on Saturday, July 29

South African Thrillers from Meyer and Debuter Steyn

Tense, intriguing, and surprising, Meyer’s thriller is a solid choice for readers who enjoy well-researched and detailed survival stories; Steyn’s Cape Town will be familiar to any city dweller who no longer knows their neighbors and hides behind barred windows

Domestic Suspense from Ellison, Finn, Frances, and Rouda

Fans of Paula Hawkins, A.S.A. Harrison, Mary Kubica, and Karin ­Slaughter will want to add Ellison to their summer reading list; Finn’s riveting and mature first novel stands out in a crowded genre; despite its flaws, Frances’s debut novel will appeal to fans of fast-paced psychological thrillers; Rouda’s latest is destined to fly off the shelves

Impressive Art: From Monet to Sisley

A great welcome back to Alfred Sisley, an exceptional, if sometimes neglected, impressionist painter; a quirky volume best suited to academic and museum libraries with deep collections on 19th-century Europe

Self-Help Guru Gretchen Rubin Tackles “The Four Tendencies”

In an interview with LJ, Gretchen Rubin expands on a concept developed in her earlier work about habits, Better Than Before: the idea that people fall into one of four categories based on how they respond to expectations.