Holiday Stories, Family-Centered Charmers, Paranormal Twists | Romance Reviews, October 15, 2016


IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS…. Although as of this writing the days are still warm, the leaves are just starting to turn, and it’s not especially Christmassy outside, the romances crossing my desk tell another story.

Spotlight on Paulette Jiles | LibraryReads Author, October 15, 2016


In Paulette Jiles’s luminous new novel, Capt. Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels the rough roads of northern Texas after the Civil War reading newspapers to paying crowds. As Jiles explained in a phone interview with LJ, “He wanted to move people into the wonderful world of imagination we all need, which he brings to people under the guise of news.”

Killer Holidays: Escape Christmas Stress with These 26 Yuletide Titles


THERE’S PLENTY OF MYSTERY IN STORE for this holiday season, from Christmas cozies to hard-boiled holiday tales.

Top Fall Poetry: Great Reading Beyond the Basics from Veterans and Newcomers Alike


Delivered without showiness, Bennett’s imagery is arresting; Hollo is fun for all; in breathtaking language, Ritvo chronicles what it’s like to be living; intellectually astute and lit-up, sharply observed verse; Shapiro finally has his moment of triumph and honor

Hard Case Crime Teams with Titan Comics


Starting this month, Titan Comics joins forces with the iconic crime fiction imprint Hard Case Crime to launch Hard Case Crime Comics. Releasing both original and adapted works by celebrated authors of the crime genre as well as emerging voices in comics, the new line will boast the same gritty, sexy violence for which the mystery publisher is well known.

Reading Bob Dylan


Here are a few recommended reads about the Nobel-winning troubadour, rock and roll’s poetry man.

Globe-Spanning Adventures | Wyatt’s World


October brings a number of particularly riveting crime novels—from legal to historical to quasi-true tales—that allow readers to travel the globe and back in time.

LJ Nonfiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


As always, the annual Pushcart Prize XLI is highly recommended; Kelly creates a world that is deeply felt; a revealing look at professional wrestler Rowdy; a solid offering for the tech-education collection; Anishinaabe activist Bellecourt’s riveting autobiography; an important study that teaches to decipher science and medical news

LJ Fiction Reviews: November 1, 2016


A nice option for fans of Abbott and Granger; a solid choice for mystery buffs who appreciate rough-hewed Australian humor; Unblemished worldbuilding from Ella; a dazzling, diverse Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year; emotional depth and wry banter are seared into every page of Higgins’s latest

Nonfiction on Canine Companions, Author Editing, and Guy Clark | Xpress Reviews


This lightweight coffee-table book will elicit broad smiles from dog lovers and photography fans; for author’s editors and possibly scholarly communications librarians; a well-informed, in-depth look at Guy Clark’s life and career