Degenerates, Royals, Monsters, and the Zerelli Sisters | What We’re Reading & Watching

Some best books picks from the “What We’re Reading & Watching” crew, along with musings about what’s on our bookshelves and screens right now.

New Bestsellers Arrive | Book Pulse

E.L. James’s latest lands a #1 spot, the NYT critics pick their faves of 2017, and Tiffany Haddish is set to talk with Trevor Noah about The Last Black Unicorn.

E-Originals from Poole, Riley, Sands, and Wilson | Xpress Reviews

Poole’s filled her latest with background that doesn’t go anywhere; the sexy chemistry between Neve and Tor is undeniable; readers will love Sands’s endearing story of family, friends, hope, and love; more joyous is how Wilson is able to update the story with a princess heading from scandal to reality TV

Fiction: Burke, Dev, Haig, Hammett, Harper, Hunt, Johnson, Olafsson, Plante, Reich, Sutton, Vaughan | Xpress Reviews

Another excellent thriller in the Robicheaux series; Dev crafts another thrilling story filled with intense drama; Emory’s solid women’s fiction debut; Haig’s prose is as eloquent and beautiful as ever; a compelling and timely novel; for mystery aficionados and Hammett fans; sweet tale of the city girl finding a home in the country; Johnson writes here with rare understanding, compassion, and generosity of spirit; for fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels; Olafsson explores such timeless themes as love; Reich introduces an appealing new protagonist; perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Lee Child; a gripping courtroom drama

A Movable Literary Feast | Albertine Prize Short List Announced

Book lovers and Francophiles gathered at the historic Payne Whitney mansion in New York City to celebrate the announcement of the shortlist for the 2018 Albertine Prize, a reader’s choice award for the best Francophone fiction translated into English and published in the United States over the past year.

Celebrity Deals, Even More Best Lists, & Bookish News | Book Pulse

Sally Field writes a memoir, Kal Penn pens an essay collection, and California gets sued for failing to teach kids to read.

Graphic Novels from Bevilacqua, Ellis & Davis-Hunt, Rubio & Efa, Stein, plus More Superman | Xpress Reviews

A gateway to introduce new readers to the graphic novel medium; a fast-paced story that will attract all sf fans; this beautiful, evocative story will please fans of biography, art history, and impressionism; Stein’s enjoyable autobiographical vignettes; plus Tomasi and Yang redo Superman

Mathematics, December 2017 | Best Sellers

February 2017 to date as identified by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO

Nonfiction: Dylan’s Nobel Lecture, Information Science Reference, Dr. Ruth on Relationships | Xpress Reviews

All Dylan fans will want to have the Nobel lecture in their collection, and this fine volume will give it permanence; a questionable investment for academic libraries or scholars; a succinct resource for those waffling with the decision to stay or move on from a long-term relationship

Publishing and Sexual Harassment | Book Pulse

#MeToo and publishing, historian Mary Beard publishes a timely book, and The Washington Post‘s Ron Charles offers a video review of Nora Roberts’s newest.