All in Good Time | The Reader’s Shelf, November 15, 2016

patience-jpg112916

Just as Ursula K. Le Guin once said, authors help readers sail the river of time. The boarding pass for a story can take one deep into history, far into the future, or allow bibliophiles to bounce back and forth.

All Those Perfect Flaws | Romance Reviews, December 2016

troublewithdukes-thumb

Most interesting characters have their faults—you could even say it’s those flaws that make them perfect.

A Year in Books | The Reader’s Shelf, December 2016

christodora-jpgthumb

In keeping with this column’s end-of-the-year tradition of highlighting favorite titles, a number of readers’ advisors have surveyed their bookshelves and pulled novels they have deeply enjoyed.

Family Mysteries | Fiction Reviews, December 2016

deadletters-jpgthumb2

Dolan-Leach’s fiction debut is as compassionate and insightful as it is riveting; Engel’s atmospheric and unsettling tale of the secrets and bonds of family will appeal to fans of The Virgin Suicides; Smith delivers a dramatic saga with a hint of mystery

Next Force Awakens: What To Watch, Read, Listen To | RA Crossroads

starwarsforceawakens-jpgthumb

Welcome to Readers’ Advisory (RA) Crossroads, where books, movies, music, and other media converge and whole-collection RA service goes where it may. In this column, all things Star Wars lead me down a winding path.

Winter Fiction in Translation: Top Fiction from Around the World

ties-jpgthumb

Strong if sometimes extended reading for sophisticated readers; fans of Latin American literature will surely want to consider Fuentes’s latest; lovers of both literary fiction and high-end sf can sink into Volodine’s absorbing tale

Topping the Charts | Arts & Humanities Reviews, December 2016

nonrequiredreading-jpgthumb

If one were to buy only one book of Best American Essays, this might be it; this exceptional collection shines for the quality of the selections and the insight of the students of the nonprofit 826 National

Oh, the Horror! | Arts & Humanities Reviews, December 2016

somethingintheblood-jpgthumb

Skal’s exploration of Stoker’s most famous work is for serious students of horror literature and ­Victorian ­culture; thoroughly documented, Powers of Darkness is recommended for Dracula scholars

Preturkey, Postelection Tomes | What We’re Reading

algorithims-christiangriffiths

Here’s “What We’re Reading” in these postelection, pre-Thanksgiving times

Gardening Trends | Collection Development

ljx161201webcd1

In a 2009 study, “Belt Tightening in Bad Times,” the Pew Research Center found that gardening had soared during the recession as Americans economized by growing food, firing groundskeepers, and staying home. Now, urgency over climate change, habitat loss, and struggling species (e.g., bees)—along with concerns over food security and obesity—are enticing newbies and prompting […]