Fraction/Zdarsky, Knisley, Kon, Miller/Varley & Others | Graphic Novels Reviews, March 15, 2015


An award-winning rarity from Fraction and Zdarsky, Goetzinger takes us inside the House of Dior, Kon is accomplished and complex, Miller and Varley’s Ronin is mature, ingenious, and dazzling, Padua’s extravaganza delights.

Graphic Novels: Ellis & Co., Hague, Kirkman & Azaceta, Smith & others, Wood & Cloonan | Xpress Reviews


Two excellent stories in a single volume; another grim and civilization-menacing serial; a silly and fun homage to the timeless heroes that fans have enjoyed throughout the decades; a near masterpiece, with grit and compassion to spare

Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews


Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Perfect Pairings | Collection Development: Genre Crossovers


LJ‘s sf columnist turns her eye to the best crossovers blending fantasy and mystery, romance and historical fiction, thrillers and horror, sf and mystery, and more.

A Graphic Novel from Manchette and Tardi | Xpress Reviews


Manchette and Tardi’s well-paced, violent graphic novel grabs readers and doesn’t let go until the end

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews


Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

Graphic Novels from Cunningham and Stok | Xpress Reviews


An economics treatise that would have worked better as a nonvisual essay; an emotional, informative, and inspirational biography of van Gogh

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes


In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Ikeda and Loeb & others | Xpress Reviews


The yuri genre gets translated into English with two from Ikeda; Loeb and company gloriously rerelease Superman for All Seasons

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews


The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter