Graphic Novels from Ikeda and Loeb & others | Xpress Reviews

superman013015

The yuri genre gets translated into English with two from Ikeda; Loeb and company gloriously rerelease Superman for All Seasons

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Bagge, Barry, Casey & Co., and Dahl | Xpress Reviews

sweatshop011615

Bagge brings a tense, frantic-paced underground-comic style to the workplace, Barry will be appreciated most by her fans, and Dahl’s intriguing collection is for aficionados of Japanese culture

Graphic Novels: Best American Comics, Jansson, Lovecraft & Culbard, Rucka & Co. | Xpress Reviews

moomin010915

A pleasing range of comics for “Best of” in 2014, a grand tribute to Jansson’s life and work, for dark fantasy and Lovecraft devotees, and a fantastic dystopian novel from Rucka et al.

Brabner/Zingarelli, Dingle, Opotowsky/Hoffmeister, Simon/Kirby, & Others | Graphic Novels Reviews, January 2015

Noctunrecover010615

A highly worthwhile volume shedding light on a too-long darkened corner of comics history; Little Nemo is essential for art libraries and McCay’s most avid fans; a lovely magical-realist fable; a solid bet for lovers of philosophical, alt-world fiction.

Reviewers of the Year 2014

ljx150101webReviewerBurch

To our hundreds of tireless reviewers who provide librarians with reviews by their peers that reflect the usefulness—or the opposite—of a given resource, a big thank you! Here, each review editor names her reviewer of the year for 2014.

Graphic Novels from Keatinge & del Duca, Williams & Coleby, and Zimmerman & Scott | Xpress Reviews

royals121914

A fully developed cast of well-rounded characters from Keatinge and del Duca; an informed, provocative alternate history from Williams and Coleby; and fascinating true-life tales of espionage, diplomacy, and high-tech aerospace innovation

Graphic Novels from Belliveau, Maroh, Puryear & Alexander, Roy & Wordie, and More | Xpress Reviews

concretepark121214

Personal-sketch fans might appreciate Belliveau, a rare English-language translation of Maroh’s work, a unique and mature twist on the “prison planet” trope, visually intriguing art and a thoughtful palette from Roy and Wordie

Graphic Novels from Geary, Mulligan/Ostertag, Peeters, Sakai, Vachss | Xpress Reviews

usagi120414

Geary’s “Victorian Murder” series is offbeat but fascinating, a satisfying webcomic transferred successfully to the printed page, Peeters paints a vivid alien landscape, Sakai’s Usagi belongs in all libraries, Vachss is unique but choppy.

Graphic Novels from Harris, Hermann & Yves H., Hubert & Caillou, and Vansant | Xpress Reviews

adrian112114

A smart and quirky tale from Harris, a sobering cautionary parable from Hermann & Yves H., a this sensitive coming-of-age-gay tale from Hubert & Caillou, and a useful introduction to the Battle of the Bulge from Vansant