Graphic Novels from Ed Brubaker & Co. and Luke Ramsey | Xpress Reviews

fadeout030615

Brubaker & Co.’s latest is a fun, fast read for fans of film noir and Golden Age Hollywood stories; more art collection than graphic novel, Ramsey’s work will find a home with fans of surrealism, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, and M.C. Escher

Perfect Pairings | Collection Development: Genre Crossovers

ljx150301webcoldev1

LJ‘s sf columnist turns her eye to the best crossovers blending fantasy and mystery, romance and historical fiction, thrillers and horror, sf and mystery, and more.

A Graphic Novel from Manchette and Tardi | Xpress Reviews

runlikecrazy022015

Manchette and Tardi’s well-paced, violent graphic novel grabs readers and doesn’t let go until the end

Graphic Novels from Davodeau and Fraction & Co. | Xpress Reviews

luluanew021315

Readers embark on a thought-provoking journey with Davodeau; Fraction and Company eschew worldbuilding in favor of sexbots and gunfights

Graphic Novels from Cunningham and Stok | Xpress Reviews

vincent020615

An economics treatise that would have worked better as a nonvisual essay; an emotional, informative, and inspirational biography of van Gogh

21 Illustrated Books for African American History Month | Graphic Novels Short Takes

spidermen12915

In 2014, the comics world saw a new focus on diversity. Superhero comics–wise, we now have a black/Latino Spider-Man, a black Captain America, and a black president Superman.

Graphic Novels from Ikeda and Loeb & others | Xpress Reviews

superman013015

The yuri genre gets translated into English with two from Ikeda; Loeb and company gloriously rerelease Superman for All Seasons

Graphic Novels from Apatoff, Font, Jurgens & others, Lewis & Co., and Sutter | Xpress Reviews

march012315

The undeniable visual and literary wit of Richard Thompson, stunning monochromatic sf artwork from Font, a new series for fans of X-Men, John Lewis continues to March, and geographic rambling from Sutter

Graphic Novels from Bagge, Barry, Casey & Co., and Dahl | Xpress Reviews

sweatshop011615

Bagge brings a tense, frantic-paced underground-comic style to the workplace, Barry will be appreciated most by her fans, and Dahl’s intriguing collection is for aficionados of Japanese culture

Graphic Novels: Best American Comics, Jansson, Lovecraft & Culbard, Rucka & Co. | Xpress Reviews

moomin010915

A pleasing range of comics for “Best of” in 2014, a grand tribute to Jansson’s life and work, for dark fantasy and Lovecraft devotees, and a fantastic dystopian novel from Rucka et al.