Q&A: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Sports Icon, Novelist, Comics Creator

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, NBA superstar and Sherlock Holmes aficionado for most of his life, has described applying Holmes-style deduction techniques to his own game strategy. Intrigued by the notion of creating Victorian sleuthing adventures himself, he’s focused two new books on Sherlock’s older and lesser-known brother, Mycroft.

Graphic Novel from Sophie Goldstein That Is Adult-Only | Xpress Reviews

Much to reflect on in this sexually visceral tour de force, filled with intense black-and-white imagery and exploring what it means to “civilize” people without first weighing the consequences

LJ Talks to Comics Legend Frank Miller

“I really fell in love with him because he was the hero who had to work the hardest. He couldn’t fly or lift cars over his head or anything like that. He had to do combat and everything else the old-fashioned way. I liked him because he was an effort character.”

Nonfiction on Parenthood, Growing More Vegetables, and Hip-Hop Artist Gucci Mane | Xpress Reviews

Guaranteed to make any expectant mother weep but not a requirement for libraries; for a more productive garden that ultimately will lead to a more healthy environment for us all; recommended for rap music scholars and fans of Gucci Mane and trap music

Genre Mashups & Original Retellings | Graphic Novels Reviews

Many of the books reviewed this month feature genre mashups and showcase how in the right hands such works can completely transcend their origins.

Eric Reynolds: Fantagraphics Books | Eye on Publishing

Passionate, informed, and with a palpable commitment to turning his artistic vision into reality, Eric Reynolds is not shy when it comes to discussing the value of comics, which he sees as a medium with a fundamental purpose: to make art.

Editors’ Fall Picks 2017

Forty-one timely titles for autumn and beyond

Graphic Novels from Cates & Co. and Wertz | Xpress Reviews

Recommended for readers who enjoy epic fantasy in rural settings; for anyone who enjoys graphic nonfiction and biography and especially for those interested in New York City’s various buildings and types of architecture

LJ Fiction | Review Alert, September 1, 2017

A tension-filled tour de force of suspense and human emotions from debuter Nelson; Snow’s action-packed, erotic series concludes with a scintillating Rule Changer; Remender and Murphy turn in one of the most fully realized graphic works of the last decade; Nobel Laureate Modiano, Latin American sensation Gamboa, best-selling Israeli author Nevo, and more; Massey’s fans and historical fiction lovers will enjoy this original outing

Graphic Novels from Chisholm, Faust & Others, and Lyon & Co. | Xpress Reviews

Chisholm’s haunting fable is both lovingly detailed and eerily dreamlike; a great read for fans of Mickey Spillane and Elmore Leonard; this graphic work encourages readers to consider important questions related to their own communities and building a better tomorrow